Book Search OptionsBooks from Other Libraries/WIN BorrowE-Books for Quick Information E-Books/NetlibraryInterpreting the Book CatalogReserve BooksUsing the Book and Video Catalog

Admin Sign In 

Introduction to Research (ENGLISH 99)  Tags: english_99  

Guide to resources for English 99: introduction to databases, keywords, acknowledge sources.
Last update: Oct 05th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.spokanefalls.edu/99  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Databases:The Invisible Web             Print Page
  

SFCC Periodical Databases

  • Proquest  
      
    Includes full-text of the Spokesman-Review and Wall Street Journal, by far the best for business and local news.
  • Academic Search Complete  
      
    Similar search to Proquest but contains additional science and social science periodical articles. Provides "Smart text" search feature.
  • JSTOR  
      
    Articles are not current; usually 5 or more years old. Emphasis on humanities, philosophy, history and some social science.

Periodicals Tutorial

  • Periodical Research Tutorial  
      
    This tutorial explains the differences between types of periodicals and the basics of reading periodical citations. This information will help you decide what sources to use and show how to read periodical citations so you can acknowledge or cite your sources.

SFCC Library Webpage

 
 

Databases: The Invisible Web

Periodical Databases

The library provides access via the internet to organized collections of books, articles and essays.  These organized collections are called databases.  If the database is composed of articles from newspapers, magazines and journals it is usually called a periodical database.  

English journalsClick to see the different types of periodicals

Periodical databases are an important part of the "invisible web." The invisible web is made up of items that are accessed through the web or internet but are usually not visible using Google or another search engine.  These invisible periodical databases on the web are not free to everyone.  You must sign-in through a library or other provider to access the articles available. 

Periodical articles are NOT web sites.  PERIODICAL ARTICLES HAVE GONE THROUGH AN EDITORIAL REVIEW PROCESS unlike most web sites.



 

Search Help

Each periodical database searches thousands of magazines and journals. 

The first step in periodicals searching is to formulate a clear thesis statement  or research question.  

 All the periodical databases may be searched by combining keywords or using subject headings assigned by the indexers.

When you do your search don’t forget these hints

  • Combine important keywords with AND  and  OR  for best results
  • When using ProQuest select the ADVANCED SEARCH for easy input
  • Spelling counts!
  •  If you find too few articles consider using fewer or different keywords.
  •  If you have too many articles or articles unrelated to your topic consider using subject headings or different synonyms.

                                                 

  • ASK the Librarian for Help!  They all have lots of experience searching  databases.
 

Librarian

Profile ImageFrank Zappa Ter, Budapest photo by Jan Wingenroth
Need help now?Click Ask Us 24/7


Contact Info:
Reference Desk 533-3834 / 800 251-1972
Send Email

Subject Guide

Profile ImageJared Anthony
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait