- American Memory
American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity. These materials, from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions, chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas that continue to shape America, serving the public as a resource for education and lifelong learning.
- Best of History Web Sites
Best of History Web Sites aims to provide quick, convenient, and reliable access to the best history-oriented resources online in a wide range of categories and has been designed to benefit history teachers and their students.
The Sheffield Chemdex: the directory of chemistry on the WWW since 1993.
- Earth Platform
Earth Platform contains a unique Environmental Search Engine, giving direct access to a wide range of news, background information and related websites.
- Education Atlas
With over 45,000 manually reviewed and indexed websites, EducationAtlas.com is a great place to find resources on education topics.
- EPA Search
A handy search interface for all of the Environmental Protection Agency's pages and resources.
On August 1, 2011, FindSounds.com celebrated its 11-year anniversary as the leading Web search engine for sound effects.
- Global Legal Information Network
The Global Legal Information Network (GLIN) is a public database of official texts of laws, regulations, judicial decisions, and other complementary legal sources contributed by governmental agencies and international organizations.
Ebsco's free online database of environmental information.
Healthfinder.gov is a government Web site where you will find information and tools to help you and those you care about stay healthy.
- Jungle Walk
A searchable directory of images, sounds and videos of wildlife.
Newsmap is an application that visually reflects the constantly changing landscape of the Google News news aggregator.
- Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection
Provides maps of general and current interest in the Perry-Castañeda Library and on the web.
- Poetry Archive
Directory-structured database of famous poetry, both written in English and translated.
Refdesk has three goals: (1) fast access, (2) intuitive and easy navigation and (3) comprehensive content, rationally indexed.
- Resources for Economists
Sponsored by the American Economic Association. It lists more than 2,000 resources in 97 sections and sub-sections available on the Internet of interest to academic and practicing economists, and those interested in economics. Almost all resources are also described.
Scirus is the most comprehensive science-specific search engine on the Internet. Driven by the latest search engine technology, Scirus searches over 440 million science-specific Web pages, enabling you to quickly:
• Pinpoint scientific, scholarly, technical and medical data on the Web.
• Find the latest reports, peer-reviewed articles, patents, pre prints and journals that other search engines miss.
• Offer unique functionalities designed for scientists and researchers.
A searchable directory of blogs from around the web, categorized by subject.
THOMAS was launched in January of 1995, at the inception of the 104th Congress. The leadership of the 104th Congress directed the Library of Congress to make federal legislative information freely available to the public.
A visual search engine, TouchGraph reveals the network of connectivity between websites, as reported by Google's database of related sites.
- U.S. Census Quickfacts
QuickFacts includes statistics for all states and counties, and for cities and towns with more than 5,000 people.
- Virtual Religion Index
Virtual Religion Index is a tool for students with little time. It analyzes & highlights important content of religion-related websites to speed research.
- Wolfram Alpha
Not so much a search engine, as a "computational knowledge engine." According to their website, their "goal is to build on the achievements of science and other systematizations of knowledge to provide a single source that can be relied on by everyone for definitive answers to factual queries."
- Zanran - Your source for data and statistics
Zanran is a web search tool specifically dedicated to finding data presented in charts, graphs, or tables. The site indexes images on the web found on pages and in Microsoft Excel and PDF files. Advanced search is better than the simple search.