Guide Index
The best resources are NOT free. You will need to access these resources through the Library's website and login with your Bigfoot username and password. Example:
Username: SusanD5467 Password:**********
- Business Articles including WSJBusiness articles including the Wall Street Journal and the Spokane Journal of Business.
- Business Books and eBooksSee the box below on this page for marketing, business plans, demographic information and social media marketing
- Human Resources Reading List (Barker)Charlene Barker's Human Resources reading list.
- International BusinessResources for doing business in other countries including country etiquette
- Management eBooks for Marketing and Business PlansGale reference books cover marketing, law and planning a small business.
Reports and Articles (Databases)
Access article databases and eBooks through the Library website. For off-campus access, sign-in with your computer username;
Example: RobertS4578 and your on-campus password ******
- ProQuest This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
The best source for full-text business and trade publications. Includes full text of the Wall Street Journal.
- American Fact FinderCensus data by community or zipcode
Ebooks for Marketing & Business Plans
Access the EbscoHost eBook collection from off-campus via the Library Website. Sign in with your Bigfoot username and password.
Example: RobertS4578 and your password ******
- Business PlansA few samples and advice on strategies and planning.
- Consumer Expenditure SurveyBureau of Labor Statistics
- DoingBusiness.org"The Doing Business project provides objective measures of business regulations and their enforcement across 189 economies and selected cities at the subnational and regional level."
From the World Bank's International Finance Corporation
American Attitudes : What Americans Think about the Issues That Shape Their LivesCall Number: eBookPublication Date: 2010Charts the changes and consistencies in the attitudes of the American Public on numerous social topics over the past thirty years.
eBook available through Gale Virtual Reference. Click image to access.
American Incomes : Demographics of who has money by Publication Date: 2009Looks at household income trends by age, household type, race and ethnicity, education, region of residence, and work status and examines trends in the incomes of men and women by a variety of demographic characteristics. It includes an analysis of hard to get discretionary income figures. Based on 2008 statistics.
eBook. Click image to access PDF.Business Plan Handbook by
Call Number: eBOOK!! SFCC has print & eBooksPublication Date: 2004-2013Actual business plans compiled by, and aimed at, entrepreneurs seeking funding for small businesses. Presents sample plans taken from businesses in the manufacturing, retail and service industries which serve as examples of how to approach, structure and compose business plans. Older volumes available from SFCC Library
Gale Business Insights Handbooks of Social Media MarketingCall Number: eBookPublication Date: 2013Business reference book on all aspects of social media marketing.
eBook available through Gale Virtual Reference. Click image to access.
Household Spending: Who spends how much on what? by Call Number: eBookPublication Date: 2009eBook. Click image to access. You will be asked to sign in.
Examines how much American households spend on hundreds of products and services by demographics including age, income, household type, region of residence, race and Hispanic origin, and educational attainment. Products and services examined include apparel, entertainment, financial products and services, food, alcohol, gifts, health care, household furnishings, shelter and utilities, personal care, reading, education, tobacco, and transportation.
Market Research in Practice by ISBN: 9780749468644Publication Date: 2013eBook available through Gale Virtual Reference. Click image to access.Millennials: Americans Born 1977 to 1994
Call Number: eBookPublication Date: 2012Provides a demographic and socioeconomic profile of the Millennial generation. Includes statistics on the education, living arrangements, labor force participation, health, incomes, spending, and time use of the youngest generation and its parents.Who's Buying by Age, 7th Edition by
Call Number: eBookPublication Date: 2012Based on data collected by the Bureau of Labor Statistics' Consumer Expenditure Survey.
eBook available through Gale Virtual Reference. Click image to access.
Marketing & Business Management Reference Books in the SFCC Library
Who's buying by age (R 338.7709 WHOS 2007)
New Strategist Publications, Inc.; United States. Bureau of Labor Statistics.
2007 2nd ed. 191 p. : ill. ; 28 cm. Ithaca, New York : New Strategist, ; ISBN: 1933588519 9781933588513
A to Z guide to American consumers : quick links to free demographics (R 339.4709 RUSSELL 2008) New Stategists, 2008.
American men and women : demographics of the sexes / (R 305.3097 AMERICA)
New Strategist Publications, Inc.2000; xvi, 440 p.
American generations : who they are and how they live / (R 339.4109 AMERICA 2005)
Author: Mitchell, Susan, Publication: Ithaca, N.Y. : New Strategist Publications, 2005.
Series includes: Generation X : Americans born 1965 to 1976 (Ref 658.8348 GENERAT) and
The Millennials : Americans born 1977 to 1994 (Ref 658.8348 MILLENN ) 2006.
Racial and ethnic diversity : Asians, Blacks, Hispanics, Native Americans, and whites / (R 317.3 RUSSELL)
The latest edition of this resource text for researchers and policy makers provides a profile of America and an update to 2000 census data, revealing the patterns of change that are reshaping society. The text details the social and economic well-being of American Indians, Asians, blacks, Hispanics, and non-Hispanic whites, presenting a snapshot of each of these populations and how they compare and contrast with one another. The material is organized into five sections on the major racial and ethnic groups, followed by a sixth section for the total population. Each section includes chapters on education, health, housing, income, labor force, living arrangements, population, spending, and wealth. Also included is a seventh section on attitudes and behavior by race and Hispanic origin. The fifth edition has been revised and expanded throughout to incorporate new data from a variety of government sources. Annotation ©2006 Book News, Inc.,
Author: Russell, Cheryl, Publication: Ithaca, N.Y. : New Strategist Publications, 2006
Research Help
Contact Options
Our professional librarians are available to help you with using any of the library's electronic resources. Please contact us if you require assistance.
 |
In Person SFCC, building 2. |
 |
By Email ReferenceDesk.SFCC@sfcc.spokane.edu |
 |
By Phone 509.533.3834 or 1.800.251.1972 |
 |
By Chat Ask Us 24/7! |