Country & Culture Resources: Library Databases
SFCC Library Databases
You will need to use your Bigfoot email and password to login to the SFCC library databases.
Username: First name first initial of last name last 4 numbers of your student ID @bigfoot.spokane.edu
ex. AnitaL7456@bigfoot.spokane.edu
Password: defaults to your entire student ID number if you've never changed it.
Need to reset your password? Contact IT Help Desk at 509-533-4357.
- A to Z the World This link opens in a new windowCountry profiles covering over 100 topics for each country in the world.
- CultureGrams This link opens in a new windowA reference source that provides country and cultural information for US states, Canadian provinces as well as other countries from around the world.
- Global Issues In Context This link opens in a new windowSupports global awareness. Authoritative content empowers learners to critically analyze and understand the most important issues of the modern world.
- Geography (College in Context)Click on your country from the list and find out current articles and information.
- Hospitality and Tourism OneFile This link opens in a new windowAccess to scholarly journals, magazines, and trade publications that cover topics including the cultural, and economic aspects of travel and tourism.
- Facts on File History Databases This link opens in a new windowChoose Ancient & Medieval History or Modern World History for historical information about your country or culture.
eBooks
- EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Search the country name. Add additional terms to narrow results.
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Intercultural Competence by Call Number: ebookISBN: 9781452244280Publication Date: 2015
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life: v. 2 Americas
Call Number: eBookPublication Date: 2009Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life: v. 3 Asia & Oceania
Call Number: eBookPublication Date: 2009- Call Number: eBookPublication Date: 2009
- Publication Date: 2009
Films
- Swank This link opens in a new windowA searchable collection of the top 500 streaming feature films.
- Kanopy Streaming via SPLStream thousands of fiction and non-fiction films with your Spokane Public Library card number.
All SFCC students and staff - no matter where they live - can get an SPL card online to access SPL's physical and digital collections.
Need to know how to get your SPL card online? Check out this guide. It will tell you how to create your SPL card, as well as how to set up your Kanopy account with your SPL card number.
- Intercultural FilmsIntercultural Films available most on DVD from SFCC Library
International Business
- Investment Climate Reports (US Department of State)The U.S. Department of State’s Investment Climate Statements provide information on the business climates of more than 170 economies and are prepared by economic officers stationed in embassies and posts around the world.
Streaming videos - Intercultural Films
Available via SFCC Library
- Swank This link opens in a new windowFilms from around the world are included in this collection of 500 streaming feature films.
To Access Swank via SFCC Library
Login using your Bigfoot email and password.
Username: First Name First Initial of Last Name Last 4 numbers of your CTC ID (ex. John1234@bigfoot.spokane.edu)
Password: defaults to your entire CTCID unless you've changed it.
Need to reset your password? Contact IT Help Desk at 509-533-4357
Need help with the database? Contact a Librarian at 509-533-3834 or 24/7 Chat
Available via Spokane Public Library
- Kanopy Streaming via SPLStream thousands of fiction and non-fiction films with your Spokane Public Library card number.
All SFCC students and staff - no matter where they live - can get an SPL card online to access SPL's physical and digital collections.
To access Kanopy via SPL:
1. You will need a Spokane Public Library card number and pin. All SFCC students, staff and faculty can get SPL cards. Visit our SPL Guide to learn how to create your Spokane Public Library card number and pin online.
2. Use your SPL card number and pin to set up your Kanopy account. Check out our SPL guide on how to set up your Kanopy account.
Browse Film Titles:
You can search for a specific country or culture in the search box. OR...
You can use the BROWSE drop down menu next to the search box and then choose a subheading under Global Studies & Languages, Documentaries or Social Sciences to browse content.
Using Google to Find Videos
How to Search
Search for the name of the culture or country or specific city and a specific cultural event or a general cultural term or activity
Examples:
- Life in Barcelona
- Travelogue South Africa
- Marriage in Thailand
- Cultural Traditions in Chile OR Culture in Chile
Where to Search
Country & Cultures Resources: Free Web Sites
- CIA WorldfactbookA quick guide to country statistics
- Geert Hofstede PageWith Hofstede scores for power distance, individualism, masculitity, uncertainty avoidance and long term orientation. No dates are given so it is difficult to tell if the information is up-to-date.
- Pew Global Opinion Survey: Global Attitudes and TrendsYou may be surprised by the outlook of those in other countries.
- World Recipes - All recipesWorldwide recipes Print cookbooks for individual countries are usually 641.5
- World Health OrganizationReports by country
RECOMMENDATIONS
Consider the perspective of your content.
Look for information directly from that country or culture also.
- Check out official country websites.
- Check out related organizations or associations in that country.
- Don't forget that not all information has to be text - check out videos and podcasts.