Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

SFCC Library Workshops

This guide provides up-to-date information about currently scheduled information literacy workshops.

Research Made Easy Presetation

Staying on Task

"The Assignment Calculator is a guide to help you plan and schedule your assignments. Start by entering the due date of your assignment. The calculator will then break down your assignment into manageable steps, which include tips and online resources to help you complete your assignment by the due date." - UWO College Australia 


Free tutoring and other learning resources are available to students. Check the Tutoring Schedule to find your subject and location, and times that work best for you. Contact Tutoring at AskAStudent@sfcc.spokane.edu or 509-533-3020. Drop in to Tutoring Services located in the Falls Gateway building 30, room 115.


  • SFCC Tutoring

  • Online Tutoring

    • Online writing lab: Submit a draft of your paper to an eTutor, ask for specific feedback, & receive your work back with a tutor’s comments within 24-48 hours.

    • Live eChat tutoring: One-on-one tutoring sessions in a virtual online environment.

    • Offline eQuestions: Leave an eTutor a question for a response without 48 hours.

Reviewed has a list of apps for blocking social media and websites with a short description of the app, pricing, and what software it works with.

  • Offtime - iOS ($2.99) and Android (Free) 

  • Moment - iOS (Free)

  • Flipd - iOS and Android (Free)

  • AppBlock - Android (Free)

  • SelfControl - MacOS (Free)

  • Cold Turkey - MacOS or Windows (Free or $29 for Pro)

  • WriteRoom - MacOS (Free) 

  • Search for distraction blockers

*The library is familiar with some tools more than others and is not endorsing or advocating that you purchase any content.

Database Accounts

How to Create a Folder & Save Documents

 

 


How to Save your Searches

 

How to Create a Search Alert

 

How to Create a Journal Alert

 

How to Search Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost Databases) using Subject Terms

 

How to Create an Advanced Search 

 

How to Create a Journal/Publication Alert and Search for Publications

 

How to Navigate & Interpret Search Results

 

How to Create a Search Alert

 

 

Knowledge Organizers

Diigo is a social bookmarking website that allows signed-up users to bookmark and tag websites.

 

  • Bookmark websites, images, notes, and PDFs.

  • Tag your collected websites with relevant terms for easy future retrieval

  • Highlight text directly on any web page for personal reference or collaboration.

  • Share your research with colleagues, classmates and friends.


VIDEO: Diigo Tutorial (Bookmarking Tool)

 

“Capture ideas with your voice, add images to notes, check tasks off your to-do list, and much more. With Google Keep, you can create, share, and collaborate with people on notes and lists. Keep synchronizes across all your devices, so your notes and lists go with you, wherever you are.” - Google Keep Support

 

  • Make Lists/Notes 

    • Draw

    • Add Images

    • Voice Recordings

  • Create alerts

  • Integrate into other Google Software

  • Chrome Extensions

  • Share


Wakelet is a free visual content platform helping people, businesses, and academic institutions organize and curate their online information so it is easier to find and share.

 

  • Bookmark websites, articles, videos, blogs, tweets, etc.

  • Arrange bookmarks into collections. Add images, test, and build stories.

  • Collaborate with others on group collections to share ideas.


 

Citation Generators

1st: Choose a citation style.

ex. MLA, APA or Chicago

 

2nd: Identify what type of resource you are citing.

ex. book, magazine, newspaper, interview, online video, email, blog, etc. 
TIP If you are not sure what type of resource you are using Google the title or ask the librarian.

 

3rd: How did you access the resource?

  • free web  (ex. you found the resource using Google/Bing etc)
  • library database  (ex. you logged in with a username/password)
  • in print, real life (ex. you held the item in your hand / saw in real life)
     

4th: Find the appropriate formula using the criteria above.

ex. MLA - Journal Article in a Library Database
ex. APA - Book in Print
ex. Chicago - Image on a Website

5th: Creating the citation.

 

Citation Generators: MLA

TIPCitation generators are only as good as you are. 

  • Use the correct template for your source and access point. (ex. article on a website vs. news article from a database)
  • Input all the necessary components.
  • Doublecheck that the generated citation has the key components (​ex. author listed? date listed? correct titles?)

How to Use MyBib (YouTube video)

Citation Formulas: MLA

6th: Formatting the Works Cited Page

 

The Works Cited page is a list of the sources you referred to in your paper.

  • It is a separate page at the end of your paper/project.
     
  • Your last name and the page number go in the upper right corner of the page.
     
  • Center Works Cited 1” from the top of the page.
     
  • Double-space within and between entries. No extra spaces between entries.
     
  • The first line of each entry begins on the left margin. Additional lines are indented ½ inch. This is called a “hanging indent.”​

    TIP Go to YouTube and search "hanging indent" and your word processing software (Word, GoogleDoc, Pages...) for how to create indent the second lines of your citation entry.

     
  • List entries in alphabetical order by the first work of the entry ignoring AAn or The
     
Sample MLA 8 Works Cited Page

sample of a properly formatted MLA 8th edition Works Cited page

1st: Choose a citation style.

ex. MLA, APA or Chicago

 

2nd: Identify what type of resource you are citing.

ex. book, magazine, newspaper, interview, online video, email, blog, etc. 
TIP If you are not sure what type of resource you are using Google the title or ask the librarian.

 

3rd: How did you access the resource?

  • free web  (ex. you found the resource using Google/Bing etc)
  • library database  (ex. you logged in with a username/password)
  • in print, real life (ex. you held the item in your hand / saw in real life)
     

4th: Find the appropriate formula using the criteria above.

ex. MLA - Journal Article in a Library Database
ex. APA - Book in Print
ex. Chicago - Image on a Website

5th: Creating the citation.

 

Citation Generators: APA

 

TIPCitation generators are only as good as you are. 

TIPDouble-check citations created in citation generators to make sure they are correct and aren't missing information.

  • Use the correct template for your source and access point. (ex. article on a website vs. news article from a database)
  • Input all the necessary components.
  • Doublecheck that the generated citation has the key components (​ex. author listed? date listed? correct titles?)

How to Use MyBib (YouTube video)

MyBib: Adding Library Database Citations

Citation Formulas: APA

6th: Formatting the Works Cited Page

Sample APA 7th Sample Student Paper (go to PDF page 19 for References Page)

Creating an APA7th ed. Style Reference Guide (PDF from APA Style)

Reference List

Sources cited in your paper must appear on a reference list. This page should meet the following guidelines:

Format

  • A reference list appears as a separate page at the end of your paper.

  • Title the page "References" and center the title at the top of the page.

  • Each source cited in your paper should be represented in your reference list.

  • Double space the entries. Do not add extra spaces between entries.

Authors

  • Write out the last name and initials for each author of a given work up to 20 authors. 

Titles

  • Use sentence capitalization. This means capitalize the first word and any proper nouns.

ex. How to succeed in business without really trying: Broadway and beyond

Italicizing

  • Italicize publication titles, but not article titles.

Order

  • A reference list should be arranged in alphabetical order according to the first authors' last name.

  • Entries without authors should be arranged alphabetically by title within the reference list.

Indentation

  • Hanging Indent: The first line of a citation is flush on the left margin and each subsequent line indented one-half inch (one tab)

 

a sample references page in APA 7th style

from Morling College 

1st: Choose a citation style.

ex. MLA, APA or Chicago

 

2nd: Identify what type of resource you are citing.

ex. book, magazine, newspaper, interview, online video, email, blog, etc. 
TIP If you are not sure what type of resource you are using Google the title or ask the librarian.

 

3rd: How did you access the resource?

  • free web  (ex. you found the resource using Google/Bing etc)
  • library database  (ex. you logged in with a username/password)
  • in print, real life (ex. you held the item in your hand / saw in real life)
     

4th: Find the appropriate formula using the criteria above.

ex. MLA - Journal Article in a Library Database
ex. APA - Book in Print
ex. Chicago - Image on a Website

Citation Guide: Chicago

Citation Generators: APA