Business publications online
Students have free access to several business publications via the SFCC Library website. Log on with your student e-mail address and password.
- ProQuest This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Includes the Spokesman Review and Wall Street Journal as well as the databases ABI Inform and Trade and Industry news database
- The Wall Street Journal OnlineAccess WSJ articles online via the SFCC Library website.
- Spokane Journal of BusinessPrint copies available in the SFCC Library.
- Google NewsAdvanced search is also available.
Reference Books
Most marketing books are on the library shelves with a 658.8 dewey decimal number. Check the SFCC Library book and video catalog for more titles.
Generation X
Call Number: Library use only R 658.8348 GENERAT 2006ISBN: 1885070896Publication Date: 2006-06Business Plan Handbook by
Call Number: eBOOK!! SFCC has print & eBooksPublication Date: 2004-2013Search within Business Plans volumes
Encyclopedia of Major Marketing Campaigns by Call Number: R 659.1097 ENCYCLOISBN: 9780787630423Publication Date: 2000Describes world famous marketing campaigns.
More Books
Other books
Market Information
- Demographics Now through Spokanebusiness.orgUse your city or county library card to access Demographics Now. This is especially helpful for identifying geographic targets.
If you don't have a Spokane public or county library card see an SFCC librarian for help accessing these resources or call the Research Support desk at 509-533-3834 or 1-800-251-1972.
- Marketing ChartsCharts show the latest consumer trends and may be searched by product or service.
- VALS Types - PsychographicsLink to types indicated in the Values and Lifestyles survey.
- Pew Research CenterThe Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan "fact tank" that provides information on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world.
- Social Media MarketingArticles, documents and books
- Consumer Expenditure SurveyThe Bureau of Labor Statistics provides information on the buying habits of American consumers, including data on their expenditures, income, and unit (families and single consumers) characteristics.
Best Customers, 8th Edition by
Call Number: eBookPublication Date: 2011Best Customers analyzes household spending on a particular product or service, showing average spending, indexed spending, and market share of spending by age of householder, household income, household type, race and Hispanic origin of householder, region of residence, and educational attainment of householder.Who's Buying by Age, 7th Edition by
Call Number: eBookPublication Date: 2012Based on data collected by the Bureau of Labor Statistics' Consumer Expenditure Survey.
eBook available through Gale Virtual Reference. Click image to access.Millennials: Americans Born 1977 to 1994
Call Number: eBookPublication Date: 2012Provides a demographic and socioeconomic profile of the Millennial generation. Includes statistics on the education, living arrangements, labor force participation, health, incomes, spending, and time use of the youngest generation and its parents.
American Attitudes : What Americans Think about the Issues That Shape Their LivesCall Number: eBookPublication Date: 2010Charts the changes and consistencies in the attitudes of the American Public on numerous social topics over the past thirty years.
eBook available through Gale Virtual Reference. Click image to access.
Gale Business Insights Handbooks of Social Media MarketingCall Number: eBookPublication Date: 2013Business reference book on all aspects of social media marketing.
eBook available through Gale Virtual Reference. Click image to access.
Household Spending: Who spends how much on what? by Call Number: eBookPublication Date: 2009eBook. Click image to access. You will be asked to sign in.
Examines how much American households spend on hundreds of products and services by demographics including age, income, household type, region of residence, race and Hispanic origin, and educational attainment. Products and services examined include apparel, entertainment, financial products and services, food, alcohol, gifts, health care, household furnishings, shelter and utilities, personal care, reading, education, tobacco, and transportation.
- More Books on MarketingFor more specifics on specific types of marketing see our print book. Most check-out for 3 weeks
Video
Government Web Sites for Marketing
- United States Census BureauProvides statistics by county from the search box.
- American Fact FinderCensus data by community or zipcode
- American Community Surveys - SubjectsThe American Community Survey collects data on an ongoing basis on specific subjects for government funding and planning purposes.
- Consumer Expenditure Survey. Bureau of Labor StatisticsCE homepage links to the latest surveys and tables.
More eBooks
Business: The Ultimate Resource - Marketing by Call Number: eBook CredoISBN: 9781408128114Publication Date: 2011
Marketing Reports
- Nielen Market ResearchTop media market research company allows download of some reports.
Sample from Demographics Now
- Lifestyle Demographichs Comparison from Demographics NowSimmons Lifestyle Demogs Statements Comparison
Research Help
Contact Options
Our professional librarians are available to help you with using any of the library's electronic resources. Please contact us if you require assistance.
 |
In Person SFCC, building 2. |
 |
By Email ReferenceDesk.SFCC@sfcc.spokane.edu |
 |
By Phone 509.533.3834 or 1.800.251.1972 |
 |
By Chat Ask Us 24/7! |