What is EBM?
- All Evidence Is Not Created EqualA discussion of levels of evidence by Steven Glaros via APTA. Heavily refers to Sackett's levels of evidence. It's also an easier read than most in understanding the purpose of ranking the evidence in PT practice
- Introduction to Evidence-Based Medicine (Tutorial)A basic introductory tutorial on the principles of Evidence-Based Medicine from Duke University Medical Library.
Sackett's Levels of Evidence
Forms of Evidence Pyramid
- Levels of EvidenceThis handout includes pyramid of evidence levels with descriptions.
EBM Books
Evidence-Based Rehabilitation by Call Number: 617.03 Evidenc 2014ISBN: 9781617110214Publication Date: 2013-11-15
Guide to evidence-based physical therapist practice (2nd ed) by Call Number: 615.82 JEWELL 2011ISBN: 076377765X
Users' guides to the medical literature : a manual for evidence-based clinical practiceCall Number: 610 USERS 2008ISBN: 007159034X
EBP databases and websites
- APTA (American Physical Therapy Association)With your APTA membership you can access PTNow for evidence based information.
- ClinicalTrials.govClinicalTrials.gov is a registry and results database of publicly and privately supported clinical studies of human participants conducted around the world
- Cochran SummariesOffers free access to the abstracts and, where available, the plain language summaries of all Cochrane systematic reviews.
- DARE - Database Abstracts of Reviews of EffectsEasy to use database covers therapy and prevention. Summaries of systematic reviews may be found.
- PEDro (Physiotherapy Evidence Database)Search the database by clicking on the Search button in the navigation bar.
- PubMed Clinical QueriesSearches on this site are limited to specific clinical research areas. For comprehensive searches us PubMed directly.
- Rehabilitation Measures DatabaseThe database provides evidence-based summaries that include concise descriptions of each instrument’s psychometric properties, instructions for administering and scoring each assessment as well as a representative bibliography with citations linked to PubMed abstracts.
- StrokeEngineA website focused on stroke rehabilitation topics and intervention.
- SumSearchProvides easy access to systematic reviews and original studies.
- Trip DatabaseTurning Research into Practice (TRIP) database is a search tool designed for health professionals to identify quality clinical evidence for clinical practice. Registration is free.