Search Quick Tips
Database Searching Help
For quick database help, checkout the links below.
- Pubmed HelpHelpful assistance in using Pubmed in question/answer format with tutorials, and videos.
Terms and Headings
Terms
MeSH are medical subject headings used by the medical profession to identify and search for topics using a controlled vocabulary. Databases in the medical field, like PubMed and CINAHL use MeSH for consistency and searchability. Link directly to the MeSH or subject search screens for the following databases.
- MeSH BrowserSearch for MeSH using this NLM browser.
- PubMed MeSHSearch PubMed by MeSH (medical subject headings)
Database Searching
Finding Journal Articles
Find PT-related articles and other resources online by searching the websites and databases listed below.
Searching from off campus?
A number of the databases listed here require you to login if you are off campus. If you have problems logging in, please contact the IT Help Desk at 509-533-4357 #2
A Search Strategy - To narrow your search results to higher level research articles, use the limit options provided by some databases. For example, CINAHL can limit or filter your search to locate only evidence-based practice, or randomized controlled trials articles, or by specific publication type and more.
- APTA's guides to Evidence-Based Practice & ResearchWith your APTA membership you can access Article Search for evidence based information. After you log in to APTA, go to the Patient Care tab, scroll down to view source options in the Evidence and Research Content section.
- CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
To search for articles within a specific journal, use the "Publications" link located on the blue bar across the top of the search screen.Type in the journal title. Select the journal title by checking the box next to the to it and click the "Add" box. Then in the large search box at the top, type in your topic. - PubMed This link opens in a new windowIncludes over 19 million citations for biomedical articles. Includes links to full-text articles.
- ScienceDirect: Health & Life Sciences This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
A collection of full-text, scholarly articles and book chapters concerning health and life sciences--includes open access journals.
- Google ScholarGo to Settings and select Library Links to set up Google Scholar to search local libraries for fulltext articles.
- Google Scholar setup guideFollow these steps to set up your computer(s) to access more full text articles in Google Scholar
- National Guideline ClearinghouseHelpful website from the US Dept. of Health & Human Services. Use it to search for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines. Search for guideline summaries by topic of organization. Compare two or more guideline summaries side-by-side.
- Trip DatabaseThis tool is designed to quickly identify the highest quality clinical evidence for clinical practice. Trip provides article citations from the Cochrane Library, National Guidelines Clearinghouse, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE), and many others.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A popular database that includes access to full text articles from Physical Therapy and PT in Motion. To search for articles within a specific journal, use the "Publications" link located on the blue bar across the top of the search screen.Type in the journal title. Select the journal title by checking the box next to it and click the "Add" box. Then in the large search box at the top, type in your topic. - ProQuest This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
A general article database offering full-text articles on a number of medical journals.
Inter-library Loan (ILL)
When the article isn't full-text...
Not all articles are available in full-text on the databases you search. When this happens, use our interlibrary loan (ILL) service to request the article. It will be delivered to your email for free. Plan ahead, interlibrary loan requests can take up 2-3 days or more for delivery.
- ILL Service through SFCC Library1. Please send all your journal article requests to me through Canvas email or to my campus email at mary.nagel@sfcc.spokane.edu
2. Provide the full citation of each journal article instead of just the .url to it. Include your full name and your personal email address. Here’s an example of an article request:
Yu P-A, Hsu W-H, Hsu W-B, et al. The effects of high impact exercise intervention on bone mineral density, physical fitness, and quality of life in postmenopausal women with osteopenia: A retrospective cohort study. Medicine. 2019;98(11).
Your full name
Your personal email address
Not providing the complete article citations may cause delays in processing your request. However, if you’re not easily finding the full article citation, send what is available and I’ll do my best.
Journal Abbreviations
Journal Abbreviations
Use the NLM database to find journal title abbreviations or full titles. However, when you submit an interlibrary loan request, you are not required to provide full journal titles, abbreviations are fine.
- NLM DatabaseFind journal abbreviations here.