LibGuides: Communication 101: Edlin Marlowe: Sources for Persuasive & Informational Speeches

Research Recommendations

Background Information:
General & Specialized Encyclopedias

Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive reference source including images, videos, articles from respected magazines an journals, and a guide to the best websites.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of online specialized encyclopedias and eBooks on a variety of subjects

Digging Deeper: Articles & Books

ProQuest This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Database of articles from magazines, newspapers, trade publications and scholarly journals.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive scholarly database with more than 7,000, full text, peer reviewed journals. Also contains magazine articles, trade publications, news items and multimedia resources.
EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Approximately 150,000 eBook titles from across the disciplines, including reference works and scholarly monographs.

SFCC Library Databases
Book & Video Search @ SFCC
Search for books or videos at SFCC or SCC.
Google Scholar
A simple way to search scholarly literature, journal articles and books. Most journal articles are not full text.

Images & Videos

Ted Talks
A link to search Ted Talks content which are videos of presentations ranging in length and topic.
YouTube

Persuasive Resources

Tips

Consider EDITORIAL, OPINION, OP-ED articles from credible sources.
Where to find these articles: official websites or library databases

ex. New York Times, USA Today, Dallas Morning News, Chicago Tribune...

Consider resources from professional organizations and associations related to that topic.
Where to find these articles: official websites is best or library databases

ex. Washington Educators Association (WEA), American Nurses Association (ANA)...

Consider resources from legitimate and established special interest organizations.
Where to find these articles: official websites is best or library databases

ex. PETA (People for the Ethical Treatment of Animals), NRA (National Rifle Association)...

Consider resources from think tanks or research institutes related the topic.

ex. Brookings, CATO...

Website Recommendations

ProCon.org
"The Leading Source for Pros & Cons of Controversial Topics"
Room for Debate (New York Times)
Opinion articles published in the New York Times addressing a variety of "hot topics."
Think Tank Search (Harvard)

Library Databases

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of reports providing in-depth unbiased coverage of political and social issues.
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Database of reference, news, magazine, and journal articles as well as statistics, videos, audio clips and recommended websites providing pro and con coverage of controversial political and social issues.
Issues & Controversies in American History This link opens in a new window
Collection of articles providing concise and balanced coverage of the backgrounds, outcomes, and contemporary points of view for every major debate and conflict in American history.