Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Political Rhetoric and Persuasion: Researching Political Rhetoric

Resources for the study of political speech, rhetoric, and advertising with an emphasis on contemporary US politics.

Resources for Political Research

Periodical Databases


Academic Search Complete

Searchable full-text of a wide variety of scholarly journals, including Journal of Politics, Rhetoric Review, and thousands of others. Also includes some general periodicals such as Nation, Newsweek, and Time. Requires student log-in for off-campus access.

ProQuest

Another searchable, full-text database, with particular strengths in newspapers, magazines, and other popular media. Includes full-text coverage of The New York Times, Washington Post, Spokesman Review, and many more. Requires student log-in for off-campus access.

Political Analysis


FactCheck.org

A non-partisan site maintained by the Annenberg Public Policiy Center, FactCheck monitors the factual accuracy of claims made by U.S politicians in political ads, debates, speeches, and elsewhere.

PolitiFact

A Pulitzer-Prize-winning project of the Tampa Bay Times, PolitiFact rates and analyzes claims made by Congress, the White House, lobbyists, and special interest groups .

Polls & Data


Gallup

The Gallup Organization conducts public-opinion polls around the world on social, economic, and political issues, and publishes daily results and analyses of recent polls.

Pew Research Center

The site of the non-partisan think tank, the Pew Research Center. Another source for authoritative polling data on social and political issues.

At the Library

SFCC students can request books from the SCC library using our shared catalog. Requested items are usually available for pickup at the SFCC circulation desk by the following day.

Age of propaganda : the everyday use and abuse of persuasion

SCC Library-2nd Floor
303.375 PRATKAN 2007

 

 

Campaigning for hearts and minds: how emotional appeals in political ads work

SFCC Non-Fiction
177.3 JACKSON

 

 

The case for combat : how presidents persuade Americans to go to war

SCC Library-2nd Floor
973.099 LORDAN 2010

 

 

Going dirty : the art of negative campaigning

SFCC Non-Fiction
324.7097 MARK

 

 

Research Help

Contact Options


Our professional librarians are available to help you with using any of the library's electronic resources. Please contact us if you require assistance.

In Person
SFCC, building 2.
By Email
ReferenceDesk.SFCC@sfcc.spokane.edu
By Phone
509.533.3834
By Chat
Ask Us 24/7!