Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Political Rhetoric and Persuasion: Speeches and Political Ads

Resources for the study of political speech, rhetoric, and advertising with an emphasis on contemporary US politics.

At the Library

SFCC students can request books from the SCC library using our shared catalog. Requested items are usually available for pickup at the SFCC circulation desk by the following day.

American political rhetoric: Essential speeches and writings

SCC Library-2nd Floor
320.973 AMERICA 2010

 

 

Live from the campaign trail: The greatest presidential campaign speeches of the twentieth century

SCC Library-2nd Floor
324.973 COHEN 2008

 

Words that ring through time: from Moses and Pericles to Obama

SFCC Non-Fiction
808.85 WORDS

Speech and Campaign Ad Archives

US Political Speeches


Presidential Speech Archive

A digital archive from the Scripps Library at the University of Virginia of presidential speech transcripts dating back to the earliest presidents. Audio or video recordings are available for many speeches from the last half century.

Presidential Rhetoric

In addition to historic inaugural and state of the union addresses, this site offers extensive coverage of recent presidental campaigns, including transcripts of the presidential debates and speeches from the Republican and Democratic national conventions.

US Campaign Ads


The Living Room Candidate

A video archive of presidential campaign commercials from 1952 to the present compiled by the Museum of the Moving Image.

Mixed Messages: Tracking Political Advertising

The Washington Post's archive of campaign commercials going back to 2006. The site includes commercials from Senate, House, and gubernatorial campaigns, as well as presidential campaigns.

Political Ad Tracker

A collection of recent political television ads compiled by USA Today, covering the Senate and Presidential races. Each video includes a factual analysis by a USA Today journalist or FactCheck.org researcher.

World Politics


Archive of Women's Political Communication

A digital archive from Iowa State of women's political speeches and other communications from around the globe.Click on "Women Profiles" to browse by speaker or on "Search Speeches" to search by keyword.

British Political Speech

Extensive collection from Swansea University and the Leverhulme Trust of British political speeches dating back to 1895.

UNBISnet

The online catalogue of the United Nations library, click on "New Keyword Search" under "Index to Speeches" to search for speeches from the UN General Assembly, Security Council, and more. Searchable by speaker, country, or topic.

Research Help

Contact Options


Our professional librarians are available to help you with using any of the library's electronic resources. Please contact us if you require assistance.

In Person
SFCC, building 2.
By Email
ReferenceDesk.SFCC@sfcc.spokane.edu
By Phone
509.533.3834
By Chat
Ask Us 24/7!