Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Encyclopedias and Monographs
St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture by
Publication Date: 2013-05-07
Includes more than 3,036 signed essays (300 of them new), alphabetically arranged, and written or reviewed by subject experts and edited to form a consistent, readable, and straightforward reference. Entries cover topics and persons in major areas of popular culture: film; music; print culture; social life; sports; television and radio; and art and performance (which include theater, dance, stand-up comedy, and other live performance).
Concise Major 21st-Century Writers by
Publication Date: 2006-07-28
A comprehensive, five-volume set, Concise Major 21st-Century Writers profiles today's most outstanding and widely known writers. Clearly written in an easy-to-use format, it collects detailed biographical and bibliographical information on approximately 700 authors who are most often studied in college and high school.
American Decades Series by
Publication Date: 2000-12-01
American Decades is a cross-disciplinary source for junior and high school students and teachers, public librarians and general researchers who need a single, consistent reference to document and analyze periods of contemporary American social history.
ProQuest Learning: Literature This link opens in a new window
More than 180,000 full-text works of poetry, prose, and drama from around the world; as well as secondary sources such as author biographies and multimedia, as well as literary criticisms, essays, reviews, and interviews drawn from more than 100 full-text literary magazines and journals.
Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
Art & Architecture Source features full-text articlesas well as detailed indexing and abstractsfor an array of journals, books and more.
The Comics Grid
The Comics Grid: Journal of Comics Scholarship is an open access, open peer review academic journal dedicated to comics scholarship. The journal aims to make original contributions to the field of comics studies and to advance the appreciation of graphic narrative.
The Comics Journal
The Comics Journal, TCJ.com, is a daily magazine about comics edited by Timothy Hodler and Dan Nadel. The print edition of The Comics Journal will continue to be published annually. Both projects are published by Fantagraphics Books.
Anthologies and scholarly treatments devoted to the work of women in the medium of comics are not new, yet women remain a minority in the field, and as a minority we have a presence that is less visible; a voice that is less heard; our work carries themes that are less critically explored, and we inherit and continue to shape a politics of representation that is weighted differently in the historically male-dominated field of image and text.
The official blog of Comic-Con and Wondercon.
Comic Book Resources
Comic Book Resources (CBR) is the premier online comics magazine. Renowned for it's high quality and diverse content and active community, CBR draws the most loyal audience of users. Contains lots of resources including: blogs, reviews, videos and lots more.
Other Article Indexes
CCS Libraries have many magazine, journal and newspaper articles for your research needs. Please search the following recommended databases to find materials on Literature and Literary Criticism.
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Database of articles from magazines, newspapers, trade publications and scholarly journals.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive scholarly database with more than 7,000, full text, peer reviewed journals. Also contains magazine articles, trade publications, news items and multimedia resources.
Associates Programs Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Index to magazines, journals, newspapers and books specifically selected for two-year college students
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Database of full-text academic journals, mostly older issues, from a variety of subject areas. Goes back hundreds of years.