Reading Image
Web Resources
- African American Women Online Archival CollectionCreated and maintained by the Special Collections Library at Duke University. Contains links to related sites.
- Bartleby Verse"Thousands of poems by hundreds of authors." Search this site of over 50 full-text sources to gain access to classic poetry."
- HathiTrust Digital LibraryThis is digital preservation repository and access platform. It provides long-term preservation and access to full-text sources that are available in the public domain, copyright free, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and partner institutions.
- Poets.org: Academy of American Poets"Visitors [to this site] can find hundreds of essays and interviews about poetry, biographies of more than 500 poets, almost 2000 poems, and audio clips of 150 poems read by their authors or other poets...[In addition you can] find local poetry resources on the National Poetry Map and calendar."
- Project GutenbergThe first large-scale attempt to make full-text books freely available on the Internet. Included are Public Domain editions of everything from Alice in Wonderland to the complete works of Shakespeare.
Access note: Freely available to the public. - Victorian Women Writers ProjectThe purpose of this project is "to produce highly accurate transcriptions of works by British women writers of the 19th century." Types of work "include anthologies, novels, political pamphlets, religious tracts, children's books, and volumes of poetry and verse drama."
- World Digital LibraryThe World Digital Library (WDL) is a project of the Library of Congress with the support of the United Nations Educational, Cultural and Scientific Organization (UNESCO). The WDL provides free access to a number of primary materials from all countries and cultures in multilingual formats.
- Bartleby.com QuotationsBartleby is well known for its expert reference sources. Visit their collections to find quotations from four well-known sources. They also provide a quote of the day and a quote of the day archives.
- Common Errors in EnglishA useful guide from WSU that gives brief explanations of words and phrases that are commonly misused in the English language. Created by WSU Professor Paul Brains.
- A Glossary of Rhetorical Terms with ExamplesA nice site to learn more about specific terms that come into play in many grammar situations. Find definitions and examples of such terms as alliteration, metaphor and simile.
- Grammar A–ZOxford Dictionary's Grammar A-Z is a dictionary of grammatical and literary terms.
- Internet Speculative Fiction DatabaseThe ISFDB is an effort to catalog works of Science Fiction, Fantasy, and Horror. It links together various types of bibliographic data: author bibliographies, publication bibliographies, award listings, magazine content listings, anthology and collection content listings, yearly fiction, indexes, and forthcoming books.
- Oxford DictionariesKnown for its expertise with reference resources, this Oxford Dictionaries site provides much more information than just quotes. Quote-related information includes a quote of the day, a quote of the week, the ability to vote for your "favourite" quote, and the option to search for a quote on a specific topic in The Little Oxford Dictionary of Quotations.
- Critical Reading Towards Critical WritingVisit this site to get answers to these questions: Critical Reading: What is It?; How Do I Read Looking for Ways of Thinking?; and Practical Tips. Created by Dr. Margaret Procter, Coordinator, Writing Support, University of Toronto, Canada.
- The Elements of StyleThe classic reference book by William Strunk, Jr. "[I]t gives in brief space the principal requirements of plain English style and concentrates attention on the rules of usage and principles of composition most commonly violated." Housed at Bartleby.com.
- Strategies for Reducing WordinessProvides strategies to achieve concise writing. Maintained by LEO: Literacy Education Online.