Recommended Library Databases
The library databases are found on the SFCC Library homepage.
Note: If you are off-campus, you will need to sign-in with your Bigfoot username & password to use these databases. Need help? Call the CCS IT Student Helpdesk @ 509-533-4357 or contact the library @ 509-533-3834 / 800-251-1972.
Remember to limit to "Scholarly," "Peer Reviewed" or "Refereed"!
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Articles on variety of subjects. - ProQuest This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Articles on variety of subjects. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Database of full-text academic journal, mostly older issues, from a variety of subject areas.
- Directory of Open Access JournalsOnline directory of peer-reviewed, open-access scientific and scholarly journals.
- Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Essays and articles providing pro and con coverage of controversial issues.
Database Search Tips
Combine keywords or subjects by using the limiting word AND.
- For example: chocolate AND health finds articles on that must contain both "chocolate" and "health"
- For example: "Washington State University" finds articles about that includes the phrase "Washington State University" not any university in the state of Washington.
Truncate words with an asterisk * to find varied endings
- For example: teach* finds "teach," "teacher," "teachers," and "teaching."
Combine keywords with OR to retrieve synonyms.
- For example: health OR nutrition finds articles that include either "health" and/or "nutrition"
- For example: seahawks NOT football finds articles that include "seahawks" but the word "football"
Use subject searching to increase precision.
Find a Specific Online Title
Have an article citation but not sure how to find it? Looking for a certain title for your class?
Try looking up the journal or magazine in the A-Z eJournal List, to see if the library subscribes to the full-text.
Note: If you are off-campus, you will need to sign-in with your Bigfoot username (ex. JohnD1234@bigfoot.spokane.edu) & password to access. Need help? Call the CCS IT Student Helpdesk @ 509-533-4357 or contact the SFCC librarian @ 509-533-3834 / 800-251-1972.
Scholarly vs. Popular Articles
Search Google Scholar
Be sure to configure Scholar to search our libraries for full-text access. If the library has access to the full-text online, you will see "Get full text at SFCC" appear next to the citation.
*Remember Google Scholar results are not always full text or it may cost money to get the full text. Save money. Ask the SFCC librarians for help. Email them at ReferenceDesk.SFCC@sfcc.spokane.edu or call 509-533-3834 / 800-251-1972.
Can't find the item you want?
If you find a reference to a book or article that does not seem to be available through the online catalog or article databases, we can get it for you!
Either contact the Reference Desk at 509-533-3834 / 800-251-1972, or submit an online interlibrary loan request.
Keep in mind that it may take ten days to two weeks for materials to arrive.