What is a database?
Put simply, a database is a collection of information. The information in these can be searched. Examples include ProQuest, Academic Search Complete and CQ Researcher.
-
Databases Tutorial from University of GeorgiaFind out more about how databases work and why you should use them for your research. This site is from the University System of Georgia.
ProQuest
Search for articles in magazines, newspapers, and professional journals. Includes the full text of many articles. The video below outlines basic information about ProQuest.
Note: if you are not on campus, you will have to login using your username and password after clicking the ProQuest link.
Some Good Databases
There are several databases available through SFCC, which will give you good, reliable articles for use in your papers. Below are some of the more useful. Remember, you will need to login to these databases. To find out how to do this, check out the short video below.
-
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Complete Academic Search Complete is a full-text database of more than 5,990 periodicals, mostly peer-reviewed. The database features PDF content as far back as 1887.
-
History Reference Center This link opens in a new windowHistory Reference Center is the world's most comprehensive full text history reference database designed for secondary schools, public libraries, junior/community colleges, and undergraduate research. The database features full text for more than 1,990 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books from leading history publishers.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR is a not–for–profit service that helps scholars, researchers, and students discover, use, and build upon a wide range of content in a trusted digital archive of over one thousand academic journals and other scholarly content. We use information technology and tools to increase productivity and facilitate new forms of scholarship.
-
ProQuest This link opens in a new windowSearch for articles in magazines, newspapers, and professional journals. Includes the full text of many articles.
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete Academic Search Complete is a full-text database of more than 5,990 periodicals, mostly peer-reviewed. Click the link below to launch a video on how to use academic search complete.