Assignment
References must include minimally
- 1 book
- 1 overview article,
- 1 scholarly periodical article
- 1 quality website or online journal.
You may have more than one of each type of resource, but you must have at least one of each type.
Overviews Online- Websites & Ebooks
If you have difficulty logging into any of these resources seek help online at http://libguides.spokanefalls.edu/distance. You may also call the library (509) 533-3834 or 1-800 251-1972 use our Chat qwidget one.
Off-campus login: Your Username: ex. SamuelD4521, and your Password:*****
Autism and Pervasive Developmental Disorders Sourcebook by Publication Date: 2011Great introductory articles.
eBook available through Gale Virtual reference. Click image to access.
Gale Encyclopedia of Children's Health by Publication Date: 2011Provides in-depth coverage of pediatric diseases and disorders, with issues related to physical and cognitive and behavioral development. Covers every major body system, arranged into five main entry types: Diseases & Disorders; Development; Immunizations
Encyclopedia of Special Education by ISBN: 9780470949382Publication Date: 2014eBook. Click to access.
Encyclopedia of Drugs, Alcohol and Addictive Behavior by Publication Date: 2008Information on substance abuse & addiction along with material on addictive behaviors such as gambling and eating disorders. New studies based on the brain-imaging techniques included. Signed articles by respected scholars.
eBook available through Gale Virtual Reference. Click image to access.
- Mental Health TopicsNational Institute for Mental Health
- Medline Plus: Developmental DisabilitiesNational Library of Medicine includes overviews, clinical trials, research and links to special organizations.
- Print books on autism including personal accounts.You may check these out in person or request that they me mailed to a campus center or your home.
Ebsco Ebooks
Use your campus computing username and password. If you have difficulty consult our online Chat or call the SFCC Library reference desk 1-800-251-1972 or 509-533-3834
Ebsco Books Available online
|
Print Books
Finding Kansas: Living and Decoding Asperger's Syndrome by Call Number: 618.9285 LIKENSISBN: 9780399537332Publication Date: 2012-04-03
Check the CCS Book and Video Catalog for additonal titles. You may request that books be sent to any CCS library or IEL center. This is faster than the mail! You may have books mailed to you if necessary. Books & Ebooks http://ccs.wash-id.net
Asperger Syndrome and Anxiety by Call Number: 616.8588 DUBINISBN: 9781843108955Publication Date: 2009This book offers practical advice for people with Asperger Syndrome on how to manage their anxiety more effectively.
Autism Solutions by Call Number: 618.9285 ROBINSONPublication Date: 2011Written by a pediatrician who is prominent in the autism world, the book covers signs and symptoms, and addresses treatment.
Autistic Brain by Call Number: 616.8588 GRANDIN 2013Temple Grandin reports from the forefront of autism science, bringing her singular perspective to a thrilling journey into the heart of the autism revolution.
Handbook of Developmental Disabilities by Call Number: 616.8588 HANDBOOISBN: 9781593854850Publication Date: 2007-08-07This book reviews the breadth of current knowledge about developmental disabilities: neuroscientific and genetic foundations; the impact on health, learning, and behavior; and effective educational and clinical practices.
The journal of best practices : a memoir of marriage and Asperger syndrome, and one man's quest to be a better husband by Call Number: 616.858 FINCH 2012ISBN: 9781439189719After five years of marriage, Finch learns he has Asperger syndrome. The diagnosis explains his ever-growing list of quirks and compulsions. Determined to change, he sets out to understand Asperger syndrome and learn to be a better husband.
A mind apart : understanding children with autism and Asperger syndrome by Call Number: 618.9289 SZATMARISBN: 1572305444Szatmari reveals what lies behind the intense preoccupations, communication problems, and seeming lack of affection that often accompany autism and AS, and what your child's mystifying behavior might really be trying to tell you, and shows how gaining a better sense of your child's experience can deepen the bonds that support learning and growth--and help you lead the way toward a happier future.
Research Help
Contact Options
Our professional librarians are available to help you with using any of the library's electronic resources. Please contact us if you require assistance.
 |
In Person SFCC, building 2. |
 |
By Email ReferenceDesk.SFCC@sfcc.spokane.edu |
 |
By Phone 509.533.3834 or 1.800.251.1972 |
 |
By Chat |