Locating Books
- Book & Video Search @ SFCCSearch for books or videos at SFCC or SCC.
Filter (narrow) Results by:
- library (SFCC, SCC, Colville...)
- location (area in the library)
- resource type (book, video...)
- date
- subject
- author
- language
Interlibrary Loan from Partner Libraries:
Borrow books from Gonzaga and other select Washington, Idaho and Oregon college libraries.
Log in using your Bigfoot email address (ex. JohnF3457@bigfoot.spokane.edu) and password to request books be sent to SFCC Circulation desk.
You should receive an email when the item has arrived at SFCC. Please allow 3-7 days.
Questions? Call SFCC Reference Desk at 509-533-3834 or 800-251-1972
E-books - Individual Titles
You can "pre-search" your topic in general or specialized encyclopedias. Like Wikipedia the sources listed below have articles that include history and a summary of previous research done on your subject. Encyclopedias should never be the only source for your research. Remember unique information from Wikipedia must be verified by at least one other reputable source.
- Britannica Academic This link opens in a new windowFree and unabridged! This is NOT the concise version found for free on the web.
Alternative Energy by Publication Date: 2006Overview of fuel and energy topics. A good place to start for environmental research.
eBook available through Gale Virtual Reference. Click image to access full text.
Gale Encyclopedia of American LawPublication Date: 2011eBook available through Gale Virtual Reference. Click image to access.
Biotechnology: Changing Life Through SciencePublication Date: 2007Covers biotechnological applications ranging across medicine, agriculture, and industry. Devoted to helping general readers understand the fast-developing science and issues related to: advances in biotechnology, the science of molecular biology and genetics.
eBook available through Gale Virtual Reference, Click image to access.
Climate Change by Publication Date: 2008"Offers coverage of the history, politics, and ethical debates related to climate change, including the impact of climate change on daily life, trade and commerce, travel, and the future of both industrialized and impoverished nations."
Click image to access this eBook.
Encyclopedia of Drugs, Alcohol and Addictive Behavior by Publication Date: 2008Information on substance abuse & addiction along with material on addictive behaviors such as gambling and eating disorders. New studies based on the brain-imaging techniques included. Signed articles by respected scholars.
eBook available through Gale Virtual Reference. Click image to access.
Historical Atlas of the Islamic World by Publication Date: 2004Includes an article on Muslims in North America. eBook available in Gale Virtual Reference. Click image to access.
International Encyclopedia of Marriage and FamilyPublication Date: 2003"Includes articles specific to countries and to religious traditions, examining the history of family life within these cultures and discussing how families have been affected by political and social change."
Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural AmericaPublication Date: 2014Articles describe the history and customs of immigrant cultures in the United States.
- Stanford Encyclopedia of PhilosophyScholarly free online encyclopedia.
Research Help
Contact Options
Our professional librarians are available to help you with using any of the library's electronic resources. Please contact us if you require assistance.
 |
In Person SFCC, building 2. |
 |
By Email ReferenceDesk.SFCC@sfcc.spokane.edu |
 |
By Phone 509.533.3834 or 1.800.251.1972 |
 |
By Chat Ask Us 24/7! |