What is EBP?
General information about Evidence-Based Practice, or EBP, is explained in the following books and websites:
- Evidence-Based Rehabitation: A guide to practiceAvailable from the SFCC Library, the text is organized by the steps of the EBP process--introduction to EBP, finding the evidence, assessing the evidence, and using the evidence. EBP focuses first and foremost on making the best decisions for each client and using the best information available.
- AOTA's Evidence-Based Practice ResourcesThe American Occupational Therapy Association website provides information on EBP.
- Introduction to Evidence-Based MedicineA basic introductory tutorial on the principles of Evidence-Based Medicine from Duke University Medical Library.
- ASHA - American Speech-Language-Hearing AssociationThe American Speech-Language-Hearing Association's (ASHA) website includes a guide to EBP.
Forms of Evidence Pyramid
Evidence-Based Practice Areas
The links below are from the AOTA website and included evidence-based practice and research articles and sources for specific areas of OT practice.
EBP Websites
- Cochran SummariesOffers free access to the abstracts and, where available, the plain language summaries of all Cochrane systematic reviews.
- OT Seeker EBPFreely accessible resources, power-point presentations and links to evidence-based practice resources
- PEDro (Physiotherapy Evidence Database)Search the database by clicking on the Search button in the navigation bar.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowIncludes over 19 million citations for biomedical articles. Includes links to full-text articles.
- PubMed Clinical QueriesSearches on this site are limited to specific clinical research areas. For comprehensive searches us PubMed directly.
- Trip DatabaseTurning Research into Practice (TRIP) database is a search tool designed for health professionals to identify quality clinical evidence for clinical practice. Registration is free.