New books at SFCC
Eating the landscape: American Indian stories of food, identity, and resilienceCall Number: SFCC Non-Fiction : 979.0049 SALMONISBN: 9780816530113Author Enrique Salmón weaves his historical and cultural knowledge as a renowned indigenous ethnobotanist with stories American Indian farmers have shared with him to illustrate how traditional indigenous foodways are rooted in a time-honored understanding of environmental stewardship.
BlasphemyCall Number: SFCC Fiction : ALEXIEISBN: 9780802120397An anthology that features tales of donkey basketball leagues, lethal wind turbines, and marriage. In these comfort-zone-destroying tales, including the masterpiece, War Dances, characters grapple with racism, damaging stereotypes, poverty, alcoholism, diabetes, and the tragic loss of languages and customs.
e-Books by Native Americans
Where the Salmon Run: The Life and Legacy of Billy Frank JrISBN: 9780295993409Billy Frank Jr. is a Nisqually Indian fisherman with a message: protect the salmon. Read his book, Where the Salmon Run, on the Washington Secretary of State website.
That Dream Shall Have a Name: Native Americans Rewriting America by ISBN: 9780803211087Publication Date: 2014The founding idea of “America” has been based largely on the expected sweeping away of Native Americans to make room for EuroAmericans. Moore examines the works of five well-known Native American writers and their efforts to redefine an “America” and “American identity” that includes Native Americans.
Plateau Indian Ways With Words by ISBN: 9780822963066Publication Date: 2014Barbara Monroe makes visible the arts of persuasion of the Plateau Indians, whose ancestral grounds stretch from the Cascades to the Rockies, revealing a chain of cultural identification that predates the colonial period and continues to this day.
Search for these and other eBooks by going to the SFCC Library Website, clicking on Article Databases and then clicking on EbscoHost eBook Collection.
Non-fiction books at SFCC
The following are only a few of the many Native American books in the SFCC Library collection. These books are sorted by their Dewey Decimal System call number. If you can't find one of these books on the shelf, you may find a similar book nearby.
Coming down from above : prophecy, resistance, and renewal in Native American religionsCall Number: SFCC Non-Fiction : 202.117 IRWINISBN: 9780806139661For longer than five centuries, Native Americans have struggled to adapt to colonialism, missionization, and government control policies. This first comprehensive survey of prophetic movements in Native North America tells how religious leaders blended indigenous beliefs with Christianity’s prophetic traditions to respond to those challenges.
American Indians and the mass mediaCall Number: SFCC Non-Fiction : 305.897 AMERICA 2012ISBN: 9780806142340Most American Indians in the twenty-first century live in urban areas, so why do the mass media still rely on Indian imagery stuck in the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries? How can more accurate views of contemporary Indian cultures replace such stereotypes? This book explores Native experience and the mainstream media’s impact on American Indian histories, cultures, and communities.
Native American clothing : an illustrated historyCall Number: SFCC Non-Fiction : 391.0089 BRASSERISBN: 9781554074334A collection of photographs from museums, collectors and private dealers that documents five centuries of Native American artistry. Many of the 300 photographs have never been published previously. Brasser explains who made what and how, as well as the meanings of the different kinds of decoration, such as beadwork, embroidery, appliqué, patchwork, weaving and dyeing.
Growing up Native American : an anthologyCall Number: SFCC Non-Fiction : 810.8035 GROWINGISBN: 9780380724178Stories of oppression and survival, of heritage denied and reclaimed -- twenty-two American writers recall childhood in their native land.
Reconfigurations of Native North America : an anthology of new perspectivesCall Number: SFCC Non-Fiction : 970.0049 RECONFIGISBN: 9780896726413Papers from the Ninth Biennial Maple Leaf and Eagle Conference on North American Studies held in 2002. Includes seventeen essays that reflect indigenous voices and consider Native worldviews while confronting issues such as indigenous identity, cultural perseverance, economic development, and urbanization.
Subsistence economies of indigenous North American societies, The : a handbookCall Number: SFCC Non-Fiction : 970.0049 SUBSISTISBN: 9781935623014A comprehensive and in-depth documentation of how Native American societies met the challenges of adapting to the varied ecosystems of North America over the past 10,000 years. This volume details the use of wild plant and animal resources in each of eight broadly defined geographical regions and considers the ways in which and the degree to which Native American societies actively shaped their natural environments.
Indian oratory; famous speeches by noted Indian chieftainsCall Number: SFCC Non-Fiction : 970.43 VANDERWISBN: 9780806115757Includes speeches from famous Indian chiefs including Tecumseh, Red Cloud, Seattle and Chief Joseph.
Sacred objects and sacred places : preserving tribal traditionsCall Number: SFCC Non-Fiction : 973.1 GULLIFOISBN: 9780870815799Combines native oral histories, photographs, drawings, and case studies. Complete with commentaries by native peoples, non-native curators, and archaeologists, this book discusses the repatriation of human remains, the curation and exhibition of sacred masks and medicine bundles, and key cultural compromises for preservation successes in protecting sacred places on private, state, and federal lands.
Spokan Indians, The by Call Number: SFCC Non-Fiction : 979.00497 ROSSISBN: 9780983231103Publication Date: 2011Ross, an Emeritus Professor of Eastern Washington University, devoted four decades to learning the Spokan culture, through firsthand ethnohistorical and archaeological research, but even more so by interviewing Spokan elders who remembered the old ways and entrusted that knowledge to him, that it could be passed on to future generations.
Encounters with the people : written and oral accounts of Nez Perce life to 1858 by Call Number: SFCC Non-Fiction : 979.5004 ENCOUNT 2015ISBN: 9780874223309
Books by Spokane author Sherman Alexie
The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian
Junior, a budding cartoonist growing up on the Spokane Indian Reservation, is determined to take his future into his own hands, Junior leaves his troubled school on the rez to attend an all-white farm town high school where the only other Indian is the school mascot.
Blasphemy : New and Selected Stories
An anthology that features tales of donkey basketball leagues, lethal wind turbines, and marriage, including the masterpiece, War Dances, where characters grapple with racism, damaging stereotypes, poverty, alcoholism, diabetes, and the tragic loss of languages and customs.
Alexie’s first book of poetry that affectingly looks at life on a reservation in eastern Washington state. His work displays tremendous pain and anger, but there is also love, humor, and plenty of irony.
Alexie's poems and prose show his celebrated passion and wit as he looks back on his childhood on the rez, inward to his sex life and his happy marriage, and outward to public events, from the Clinton impeachment to Gonzaga University basketball.
Outraged pride, broken promises, and the scourge of alcoholism are the burden of these sharp-edged, high-impact poems and prose woven together in a tapestry of pain about death by fire and survival by endurance on the Spokane Indian Reservation.
With themes of alienation, revenge and forgiveness, this is the story of Zits who runs away from his foster home and ends up in jail. Soon after, he enters a bank, shoots several people and is shot dead himself. Zits then commences time-traveling via the bodies of other people.
An Indian serial killer incites racial tension by murdering whites in retribution for his people's history. The killer is a conflicted creation raised by loving white parents, but twisted by loss of his identity as an Indian.
The Lone Ranger and Tonto fistfight in heaven
Alexie’s 22 short stories set around the Spokane reservation captures a strong sense of community and attitude of hope tinged with realism as its inhabitants determine to persevere despite the odds.
Alexie uses poetic power to capture the full range of the modern Native American experience, writing both with anger and with great affection and humor.
Alexie demonstrates his skills at describing contemporary Indian life in America and his ability to handle multiple perspectives and complex psychological subject matter with humor.
Coyote Springs is an all-Indian rock band that sings its own brand of the blues. Alexie vaults with ease from comedy to tragedy and back in a tour-de-force outing powered by a collision of cultures: Delta blues and Indian rock.
For prolific poet and novelist Alexie, Indian culture is not a frozen set-piece, but a field of vital, co-mingling influences that includes playing basketball, watching for Sasquatch or admiring Fred Astaire.
A collection of stories about Native Americans who find themselves at personal and cultural crossroads, faced with heart-rending, tragic, sometimes wondrous moments of being that test their loyalties, their capacities, and their notions of who they are and who they love.
Children's book. Thunder Boy Jr. wants a normal name...one that's all his own. Dad is known as Big Thunder, but Little Thunder doesn't want to share a name.
The Toughest Indian in the World
This collection of stories deals with urban Indians who are straddling two worlds: an intimate but indigent life on the reservation and an affluent but strange and sometimes hostile white middle-class existence. Their solutions to this double bind are rarely ordinary.
A collection of stories, poems, question and answer sequences, and hybrids of all three and beyond. Alexie unfurls highly expressive language in this spirited and provocative array of tragic comedies.
What I've stolen, what I've earned
Alexie's poems explore the quirks and tragedies of Native American legacies with irreverent wit, dexterous shifts in poetic form, and a wide range of subject matter.
You don't have to say you love me: a memoir
An extraordinary look at the complicated relationship between a remarkable mother and an equally remarkable son, set, mostly, in the Spokane Indian Reservation where Alexie spent his childhood.