Ancient Theater Web Sites
- Ancient Greek TheaterGetty museum features maps, sounds and scene on vases.
- The Art of Ancient Greek TheaterThis exhibition explores the many ways Greek drama was interpreted by ancient Greek artists, whose works are frequently the only surviving evidence of the performing arts in antiquity. Photos of the exhibit are the best part of the site.
- Theatron: Theater History in EuropeView European Theaters by clicking on the timeline. Includes the Romans
- Didaskalia: The Journal for Ancient PerformanceAn electronic journal dedicated to all aspects of Greek and Roman drama performance.
Links for Roman Theater
- Ancient Rome from "Western Theater""Western theatre." Encyclopædia Britannica Online. Encyclopædia Britannica, 2011.
- Roman Theaters during the RepublicA very short report.
- DIDASKALIA: The Journal for Ancient PerformanceSearch Roman for articles on roman theater.
- "Origins of Roman Drama." Cambridge History of Classical Literature. Latin LiteratureVol. 2SFCC students should sign in to view full-text of essays. See HELP tab for off-campus sign-in assistance.
Classical Greek Reference Sources Online
Concept Map of Euripides from Credo Reference
- Stanford Encyclopedia of PhilosophyScholarly free online encyclopedia.
- "Ancient and Classical Greece Ethics." Encyclopædia Britannica Online Academic Edition.There are also articles on Aristotle and virtue and justice
- Ancient and Medieval History Online This link opens in a new windowStart by choosing the time period you are researching.
Daily Life in the Hellenistic Age by ISBN: 9780313081309Publication Date: 2008Available through ABC-CLIO eBooks. Click on image to access.
Daughters of Gaia: Women in the Ancient Mediterranean World by Call Number: Part of ABC-CLIO's eBook CollectionBeware of foreign women with mysterious herbs and medicines.
Click image to access eBook
- Dictionary of the History of Ideas. "Justice"Scholarly essay on the history of the concept of justice.
- Dictionary of the History of Ideas. "Ancient Greek Ideas of Law."Very heavy reading but you can keyword search Medea to see where the story fits into the Greek idea of law.
Books & Videos including Oedipus
- Ancient Greek Theater - Streaming6 min. To view sign-in with your computer username & network password.
View the Help! page this guide if you have questions
Greek drama and literature is classified with the call number 882.
- A History of Great Playwrights video series. Program 1: Antiquity to the RenaissanceThis five part video series from Ambrose Video Publishing, Inc., focuses on the rich literary tradition of the theater - its plays and playwrights. Program one examines the origins of plays and the earliest playwrights in Ancient Greece to the influences from Greek and Roman theater and the Renaissance writers of the Elizabethan Age.
- Greek Drama eBooks from EBSCOStudent campus computing sign in necessary for off-campus use. See Help! tab for more information.
- Greek Drama at SFCC - books and videoListed by title.
- The history of the Greek and Roman theaterPrint 882.09 B475
- Oedipus - Ebsco EbookStudent computer sign-in necessary for off-campus use. See Help! tab for more information.
- Project Gutenberg - Greek & Roman PlaysThankfully Greek and Roman works are not subject to U.S. copyright laws however particular newer translations are not available.
Book & Video Lists
Books and Classical Monologues
Costume in Greek Tragedy by Call Number: 792.026 WYLESISBN: 9780715639450Publication Date: 2011-12-01Wyles (Univ. of Nottingham, UK) provides a readable account of costume in Greek tragedy, filling a gap in this area. The book first surveys the historical evidence, primarily vase paintings from antiquity. This section is well illustrated and offers judicious interpretation of the available evidence. The author demonstrates a relative fluidity in costume during the Greek period before the more standardized costuming during Roman times. In a second chapter, Wyles discusses the likely materials and production methods of ancient costumes. Subsequent chapters are devoted to how costuming affects the understanding of individual plays and of drama in general. Particularly interesting are Wyles' comments on how costumes would have influenced audiences' expectations and reactions. Concluding her study is a discussion of costuming theories in modern staging of classical Greek plays. Appendixes with technical terms and quotations on costuming from classical commentators are also included. Wyles' study is both accessible to less-experienced readers and useful for specialists. Summing Up: Recommended. Upper-division undergraduates and above. S. E. Goins Choice
Actor's book of classical monologuesCall Number: SFCC Call Number: 808.8245 Ac87c
Classical monologues from Aeschylus to Bernard ShawCall Number: SFCC Call Number: 808.8245 CLASSICAThis book has twelve Greek monologues.
