Titles online: Better than Wikipedia
Off-campus you will need to sign-in with your campus computer username and the password you choose.
username: janetw7643
password: *******
See Login Help if you have difficulty
Help others adding stars to your favorites.
- Countries and Their CulturesGreat overviews for all countries.
- CulturegramsEmphasis on cultural etiquette
- Cultures and Customs ebook serieseBook series available for some countries.
Type CUltures and Customs as the eBook TITLE if a list of books doesn't appear when you click this link. - Country WatchCHOOSE COUNTRY WATCH for political, economic and social information. Also links to Country newswire for the latest new articles. This source is often difficult to access off-campus. Don't give up the first try and let the library know if you continue to have difficulty.
- FilmsIntercultural Films available most on DVD from SFCC Library
- Food Culture in...Volumes cover food customs in China, Japan, India, Africa, the Middle East, Mexico, South America, Spain, Italy, France and Great Britain.
- The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Women's Issues WorldwideAll countries listed by continent
- Human Relations Area Files (eHRAF World Cultures)Specializes in non-western cultures. Especially good for Africa, the Middle East and indigenous peoples. Check the CULTURE SUMMARY tab for an overview of any cultural group listed. This information is useful if you are interested in a particular subculture within a country. The tutorial is very helpful.
- Tutorial for Human Relations Area Files (eHRAF)Very helpful using eHRAF to find information on indigenous and other non-western cultures. Link for eHRAF database is above.
- Encyclopedia of Multicultural AmericaAmerican immigrants and ethnic groups
- International Encyclopedia of Marriage and the FamilyDiscusses family and marital issues across cultures. Includes such issues as arranged marriage, ShariĘża and other religious and cultural traditions effecting family life
- Smithsonian Global MusicLibraries music online database links to both this global music collection and contemporary world music. You may o create an account and make a playlist of favorites.
- Contemporary World MusicThe database features genres such as reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing and jazz, and other more traditional genres such as Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, gagaku.
- National Days/National Ways: Historical, Political, and Religious Celebrations around the WorldeBook
- Teen Life in.....Organized by continent
- Videos - How to find Cultural InformationVideos on how to use these resources.
Comments (0)
Country Web Sites
Help others by scoring these websites. No special registration in necessary.
- CIA WorldfactbookA quick guide to country statistics
- Country Background NotesU.S. Department of State publications similar to CIA factbook but in narrative form.
- Country Profiles - Library Of CongressIf you are lucky there will be an e-book on your country
- Don't Gross Out the WorldQuirky quiz on table manners for dining around the world
- Everyculture.comSimilar to Countries and Cultures
- Geert Hofstede PageWith Hofstede scores for power distance, individualism, masculitity, uncertainty avoidance and long term orientation. No dates are given so it is difficult to tell if the information is new.
- KwintessentialCommercial site that compares countries Power Distance, Individualism, Masculity and Uncertainty Avoidance. Warning: this site information is has not been updated for several years.
- Nationmaster - StatisticsCountry statistics can be compared
- Pew Global Opinion SurveyYou may be surprised by the outlook of those in other countries.
- Portals to the World - Library of CongressWebsites in each country
- Recipe SourceWorldwide recipes Print cookbooks for individual countries are usually 641.5
- World Development IndicatorsWorld Bank reports and statistics by country
- World Health OrganizationReports by country
Videos - Finding information on Cultures and Ethnic Groups
Librarian |
Need help now?Click |
Reference Books PRINT

- Kiss, Bow, or Shake Hands : The Bestselling Guide to Doing Business in More than 60 Countries. PRINTb>R 395.52 MORRISO PRINT
- The Way to Play : The Illustrated Encyclopedia of the Games of the World. PRINTR 795 D569w
- The Encyclopedia of World Cultures. PRINTVery good for locating information on specific African native tribes and also some information on Native Americans. Includes detailed information on many ethnic groups. GREAT BOOK and NO ONLINE EQUIVALENT available.



Loading...
