Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
E-Books & Articles
Off-campus sign in with your campus username and computer password Username:JanetW3487 Password:*****
For local articles check the Spokesman Review as a publication in Proquest.
Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America
Publication Date: 2014
This work includes 175 ethnic entries on specific minority groups in the U.S., with an emphasis on culture (religions, holidays, customs, language) in addition to information on historical background and settlement patterns. The encyclopedia also covers ethnoreligious groups such as Jews, Chaldeans and Amish also.
U-X-L Encyclopedia of Native American Tribes by
Publication Date: 2012
Detailed studies of tribes from all over the United States and Canada, including small tribes and some that no longer exist. Includes history, religion, art, government, economy, daily life and current social and political issues.
Spokane Area - Print Books, Films and Archives
Spokane Indians: Children of the sun by
Call Number: 979.70049 SPOKANE RUBY
Publication Date: 2006
"This tribal history of the Spokane Indians, by and large, focuses on the interaction of the Spokanes with white settlers and with the US government. It describes the encroachment of the Spokanes' land and their enforced settlement on reservations, as well as the legal and political efforts of the Spokanes to seek redress." Publisher
Gale Encyclopedia of Native American Tribes by
Call Number: R 970.0049 gale (Reference Collection)
Publication Date: 1998
Historical and current information concerning approximately 400 Native groups in the Americas written or reviewed where possible by Native American authors or tribal councils.
American gypsy a stranger in everybody's land
Call Number: DVD 1321
Publication Date: 2007
America is home to one million Gypsies, or Rom, whose rich culture has long been mysterious to outsiders. Jimmy Marks a flamboyant Romani leader who lives in Spokane, Washington, invites the viewer into this closed world.
Family Gathering - The American Experience (Japanese)
Call Number: 940.5317 FAMILY
A granddaughter in reconstructing her family's history in Oregon, runs into reluctance to talk about the years of World War II, a time when most of her family was interned in camps as west coast first and second generation Japanese. The picture she gains gives her a fuller idea of her heritage, previously based on her father reminiscences and home movies.
Being Hmong Means Free (VHS) by
Call Number: 305.8959 BEING
Publication Date: 1994
VHS film 305.8959 BEING
Highlights the history, culture and identity of Hmong immigrants and refugees from Laos who settled in the United States between 1975 and the early 1990s. The documentary looks at Hmong life in this country as seen through the eyes of the seventeen-year-old program host, Lia Vang.
Detailed census links below.