Books
The Climate Action Handbook
A visual guide to 100 climate solutions for everyone.
The Climate Book
Thunberg gathers essays from scientists, journalists, and activists,
starting with lucid and accessible explanations of the science of global
warming and its possible effects.
Drawdown
The most comprehensive plan ever proposed to reverse global warming.
The Future We Choose
The stubborn optimist's guide to the climate crisis.
Local Voices, Local Choices
The story of the Jane Goodall Institute’s holistic approach to conservation,
which puts local people in charge of preserving their surrounding ecosystems
No Miracles Needed
How today's technology can save our climate and clean our air.
Saving Us
A climate scientist's case for hope and healing in a divided world.
Total Garbage
Tells the story of families, campuses, rural towns, and big cities ...inventing was to replace waste with abundance.
Climate Empowerment: International frameworks - inspiring change
Nations and communities taking action
United Nations Framework on Climate Change (UNFCCC) came into force in 1994 with 198 countries having ratified the goals of the Convention. The ultimate aim of the UNFCCC is "to stabilize greenhouse gas concentrations, at a level that would prevent dangerous anthropogenic (human induced) interference with the climate system." It further states that, "such a level should be achieved within a time-frame sufficient to allow ecosystems to adapt naturally to climate change, to ensure that food production is not threatened, and to enable economic development to proceed in a sustainable manner."
Article 6 of the UNFCCC convention, "seeks to reduce the impact of climate change by enabling society to be part of the solution. Education and training are integral in enabling citizens' contributions to local and global efforts to meet the climate change challenge."
UNFCCC Climate action webpage
Action for Climate Empowerment (ACE) - The "goal of ACE is to empower all members of society to engage in climate action, through the six ACE elements - climate change education and public awareness, training, public participation, public access to information, and international cooperation on these issues."
The Paris Agreement - is a legally binding international treaty on climate change . It was adopted by 196 Parties at the UN Climate Change Conference (COP21) in Paris, France, on 12 December 2015. It entered into force on 4 November 2016"
Select Library Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive scholarly database with more than 7,000, full text, peer reviewed journals. Also contains magazine articles, trade publications, news items and multimedia resources.
- Climate Change & Human Health Literature PortalAn integrated, curated bibliographic database of global peer-reviewed research and gray literature on the science of climate impacts on human health. Hosted by NIH - National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowA broad collection of scholarly articles, case laws, and patents, many of which are free, though some documents require purchase to view. Important: items that require purchase can be interlibrary loaned at no cost through the SFCC library, please contact a librarian for details.
- ScienceDirect: Health & Life Sciences This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
A collection of full-text, scholarly articles and book chapters concerning health and life sciences--includes open access journals.
Interlibrary loan Service
Articles and books not available at SFCC Library can be requested through our interlibrary loan service at no charge. Requesting materials