Books
Climate Change and the Health of Nations
Famines, fevers, and the fate of populations
The Great Displacement
Climate change and the next American migration
Select Library Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive scholarly database with more than 7,000, full text, peer reviewed journals. Also contains magazine articles, trade publications, news items and multimedia resources.
- Climate Change & Human Health Literature PortalAn integrated, curated bibliographic database of global peer-reviewed research and gray literature on the science of climate impacts on human health. Hosted by NIH - National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowA broad collection of scholarly articles, case laws, and patents, many of which are free, though some documents require purchase to view. Important: items that require purchase can be interlibrary loaned at no cost through the SFCC library, please contact a librarian for details.
- ScienceDirect: Health & Life Sciences This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
A collection of full-text, scholarly articles and book chapters concerning health and life sciences--includes open access journals.
Population pressure and the climate crisis
"The Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change says that most of the warming of the past 50 years
is attributable to human activities, particularly greenhouse gas emissions from high-income countries,
and has identified population growth as an immediate driver of emissions.
Because population pressure increases emissions through the burning of fossil fuels, increased material
extraction, deforestation, industrial agriculture, and other manufacturing processes, it’s important to advocate
for policies that rapidly reduce those emissions and build resiliency in a changing climate, including the
advancement of gender equity and access to reproductive healthcare."
Source: Center for Biological Diversity, "Population pressure and the climate crisis."
Resources
- The climate crisis, migration, and refugeesThe scope and scale of human migration due to climate change will test the limits of national
and global governance as well as international cooperation - Demography and climate changeUnderstanding the links between population dynamics and the causes and consequences
of climate change will help design future-looking policies for a greener planet
- As climate fears mount, some in U.S. are deciding to relocateAs wildfires worsen and sea levels rise, a small but growing number of Americans are choosing to
move to places such as New England or the Appalachian Mountains that are seen as safe havens from
climate change. Researchers say this phenomenon will intensify in the coming decades.
Interlibrary loan Service
Articles and books not available at SFCC Library can be requested through our interlibrary loan service at no charge. Requesting materials