Research
Library Databases
Students: BIGFOOT username & password are required to access databases.
Faculty/Staff: Network (email) username & password are required
Need help accessing the databases?
Research Tips
Search for a job or profession. Add additional search terms to find more relevant articles.
- "video game designer" AND training
- nursing AND patient history forms
- Associates Programs Source Plus This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Index to magazines, journals, newspapers and books specifically selected for two-year college students - ProQuest This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Trade journals are great for industry news. - Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive scholarly database with more than 7,000, full text, peer reviewed journals. Also contains magazine articles, trade publications, news items and multimedia resources. - EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Approximately 150,000 eBook titles from across the disciplines, including reference works and scholarly monographs.
Issues by Profession
Looking for information about issues, values, topics, policies, advocacy, news..... related to a particular profession? Try looking here:
-
Profession's organizations or associations website.
- ex. GOOGLE SEARCH: professional organization addiction professionals
- ex. RESULTS: NAADAC, The Association for Addiction Professionals
- other professional group examples:
- early childhood educators - NAEYC
- information systems security - ISSA
- video game development - IGDA
- nurses - American Nursing Association
-
Social media for what is trending in those fields.
-
Search hashtags (#) to see what people are talking about related to that industry.
-
ex. #pharmtech on Twitter:
-
Paradigm @ParadigmPublish
The Evolving Role of Pharmacy Technicians http://ow.ly/PwG2308EJvQ #pharmtech
-
ex. National Restaurant Association on Facebook:
-
-
- Occupational Outlook HandbookThis publication describes the nature of the work, working conditions, the training and education needed, earnings, and expected job prospects for a wide range of occupations.
Research Help
Contact Options
Our professional librarians are available to help you with your assignment at any point in the research process. Please don't hesitate to contact us if you require assistance.
 |
In Person SFCC, building 2. |
 |
By Email |
 |
By Phone 509.533.3834 |
 |
By Chat Ask Us 24/7! |