Research, Writing & Your Profession
Here are some suggestions on how to research what writing might look like in a particular job field or profession.
Research
Library Databases
Students: BIGFOOT username & password are required to access databases.
Faculty/Staff: Network (email) username & password are required
Need help accessing the databases?
Search for a job or profession. Add additional search terms to find more relevant articles.
- "video game designer" AND training
- nursing AND patient history forms
- Associates Programs Source Plus This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Index to magazines, journals, newspapers and books specifically selected for two-year college students - ProQuest This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Trade journals are great for industry news. - Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive scholarly database with more than 7,000, full text, peer reviewed journals. Also contains magazine articles, trade publications, news items and multimedia resources. - EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Approximately 150,000 eBook titles from across the disciplines, including reference works and scholarly monographs.
Professional Associations
Professional associations and organizations are great place to learn more about a particular profession. Their websites often contain lots of resources aimed at people in their profession.
Association website may contain:
- newsletters, magazine, journals or other publications by that organization
- education materials aimed at people in that field
- other resources
- provides examples of how people within that
Search the free web and include "professional organization" or "professional association"
ex. GOOGLE addiction counselors AND professional association
ex. RESULTS NAADAC.org , IAAOC.org
Interview Someone
Talking to someone in the profession is the best way to find out what type of writing they do.
- Talk to someone you know
- Ask other people if they know someone
- Reach out via email or phone
- Try social media