Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

History: Library Resources: Web Resources

Databases for articles on history of all eras

Online Resources

American Indians of the Pacific Northwest Collection 

This site provides an extensive digital collection of original photographs and documents about the Northwest Coast and Plateau Indian cultures, complemented by essays written by anthropologists, historians, and teachers about both particular tribes and cross-cultural topics. 

Civil Rights & Labor History Consortium 

These thirteen projects from the University of Washington bring together maps, films, slide shows, nearly one hundred video oral history interviews, and several thousand photographs, documents, and digitized newspaper articles. 

Historical United States Census Bureau

Provides access to census materials from 1790 to the present and other related materials useful for genealogy and historical research projects

‚ÄčHistory Link

Free online encyclopedia of Washington state history, produced by the non-profit History Ink. History Link doesn't provide the depth of analysis found in more scholarly sources, but worth exploring for topic ideas.

Plateau People's Web Portal

A gateway to the cultural materials of Plateau peoples that are held in Washington State University Libraries, Manuscripts, Archives, and Special Collections (MASC), the Museum of Anthropology and by national donors. 

Spokane Historical 

Spokane Historical is a project of the Public History program at EWU and is an interactive platform for telling stories of Spokane and Eastern Washington.

Journals of Lewis and Clark

Journals of the Lewis and Clark Expedition - University of Nebraska

The complete journals of Lewis and Clark. Includes full-text search, as well as maps, audio recordings of excerpts, and some original images from the journals.

Lewis and Clark: The Journals - PBS.org

Excerpts, not the complete text, but includes some navigation options not found on the University of Nebraska site, including the ability to view the entries only of selected members of the expedition.

 

Archives

 

Albertsons Library Digital Collection

Boise State University Collections include the Borah Papers, photographs and other materials.

Archive.org

A digital collection of resources that includes 279 billion web pages, 11 million books and tests, 4 million audio recordings, 3 million videos, and 1 million images.

Columbia River Basic Ethnic History Archive (CRBEHA) 

A collaborative project between Washington State University Vancouver, the Idaho State Historical Society, Oregon Historical Society, Washington State Historical Society, and Washington State University Pullman.  The focus of the content seeks to highlight the presence of ethnic groups whose past were unrecognized or not always represented in the history of the Columbia River Basin. The project includes digital collections, interpretive materials and lessons plans related to the topic of history of these ethnic groups. 

Eastern Washington University Digital Collections

Small collection of photographs, drawings, oral history transcripts, and other documents, largely related to Cheney and EWU, but with some broader coverage of the Inland Northwest.

Google News Digitization Project

Unfortunately, Google discontinued its newspaper digitization efforts, but what Google had already completed remains online, including many early issues of The Spokesman-Review and the Spokane Daily Chronicle.

National Archives and Records Administration

Comprehensive records relating to the history of the United States as a nation, including the most important documents of U.S. history, accessible with a searchable subject index.

Oregon Digital

Photographs, manuscripts, ephemera, and more from the collections of the Oregon State and University of Oregon libraries

Providence Archives 

Historical records covering hospitals, schools and centers affiliated with the Sisters of Providence in the Pacific Northwest. 

Southern Oregon Digital Archives

Two extensive digital collections related to the history of southern Oregon, the Southern Oregon History Collection and the First Nations Collection.

Spokane Public Library Digital Collections

Photographs from the Spokane Public Library's Northwest Room, with an emphasis on historic Spokane and environs.

University of Idaho Digital Initiatives

Small digital collection of historic photographs and maps, mostly related to Moscow and the University of Idaho.

University of Washington Digital Collections

Maps, posters, photographs, and other media on a variety of subjects with particular strengths in the history of Seattle, Alaska and the Yukon, and ethnic groups of the Pacific Northwest, including the American Indians of the Pacific Northwest collection.

Washington State Digital Archives

Massive online collection of Washington state records, including birth, death, and census records, historic maps, and photographs.

Washington State University Digital Collections

Photographs, illustrations, maps, recorded oral histories, and other documents, with a strong emphasis on the Pullman-Moscow area.

Western Washington University Digital Collections

Small collection of photographs, drawings, oral history transcripts, and other documents, largely related to Bellingham, WA and WWU, but with some broader coverage of the Inland Northwest.

Google News Digitization Project

Unfortunately, Google discontinued its newspaper digitization efforts, but what Google had already completed remains online, including many early issues of The Spokesman-Review and the Spokane Daily Chronicle.

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers

Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1949 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.

Historic Oregon Newspapers

Access complete content for historic Oregon newspapers that have been digitized as part of the Oregon Digital Newspaper Program.

Washington State Library: Historic Newspapers

Washington State Library created an online collection of indexed newspapers beginning in 1852, which covers Washington's territorial and early statehood periods. These digitized pages from our microfilm collection have been indexed and are keyword searchable thanks to the efforts of volunteers.

Video - What are Archives?