Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EBSCO eBooks

Tutorials for finding and using eBooks on EBSCOhost.

Organizing your Research: The Cite and My Folder Features

If you're working on a more extended research project using with ESBCOHost eBook collection, it may become a challenge to keep all your sources organized. This section describes how to use the cite feature to get preformatted citation information in a variety of formats and how to use the My Folder feature to create custom sets of eBook links for later reference.

 

Using the Cite Feature


The cite feature on EBSCOhost allows you to quickly retrieve pre-formatted citation information that you can copy and paste into another document. Go to the full-text view of any book in the EBSCOhost eBook collection. While in the full-text viewer, click on the cite icon in the right-hand toolbar. The cite icon looks like a tiny research paper.

A "Citation Format" area should appear at the top of your screen, with the citation information presented in a variety of bibliographic formats, including current APA and MLA formats. Note that because these citations are automatically generated, you will want to proofread the citation and make any necessary corrections yourself. To dismiss the Citation Format window, click the cite icon again or the X in the upper right hand corner.

 

Using the My Folder Feature


If you're doing extended research with a large number of sources, you may find it beneficial to use the My Folder feature included with the EBSCOhost eBook collection. The MyFolder feature allows you to create custom folders of links within EBSCOhost so that you can revisit them later. It also integrates with other EBSCOhost products available through Spokane Falls, such as Academic Search Complete, so that you can save links to articles and other documents as well.

Before you begin, you will have to sign into your My EBSCOhost account. If you don't yet have an account, you can create one for free, as explained elsewhere in this guide.

Once you've signed in, find any book in the collection and go to the full-text view. Click on the folder icon in the right-hand tool bar. The folder icon will change from empty to full to indicate that the eBook has been added to your personal folder.

You can repeat this with any number of books. When you're done, click on the folder icon on the upper right of any page in the EBSCOhost eBook collection.

On the left you should see a list of the default folders available in your account. Notice that if you use the annotation tool to create notes or download books with Adobe Digital Editions, these are also reflected in the notes and checkout sections respectively. If it's not already selected, click on the eBooks folder to display the eBooks you recently added.

You can also create your own folders for specific research projects. Click the "New" link in the "My Custom" area.

On the next page, enter a name and optional description for your custom folder and press save.

Once you've created a custom folder, notice that your list of saved eBooks now has two new options, Copy To and Move To. These allow you to copy or move those eBook titles into your newly created custom folder. Click the "select all" box and select the folder you just created from the "Move To" drop down menu.

The eBooks you selected should now be saved in your custom folder. You can create any number of folders to help you organize your research process.

Research Help

Contact Options


Our professional librarians are available to help you with using any of the library's electronic resources. Please don't hesitate to contact us if you require assistance.

In Person
SFCC, building 2.
By Email
ReferenceDesk.SFCC@sfcc.spokane.edu
By Phone
509.533.3834
By Chat
Ask Us 24/7!