Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EBSCO eBooks

Tutorials for finding and using eBooks on EBSCOhost.

Reading eBooks: Using the Annotation and Dictionary Features

If you've gotten this far, you obviously know how to read. But this section describes some of the features designed to enhance your reading experience while using the EBSCOhost eBook collection. Specifically, the tutorials below describe how to use the bookmark and annotate feature and the dictionary feature.

These tutorials assume you already know how to find and navigate eBooks on the EBSCOhost interface. If not, refer to the Finding eBooks and Navigating eBooks tutorials.

 

Using the Bookmark and Annotate Feature


The Bookmark and Annotate feature allows you to create your own custom notes as you read a text, and then print out those notes or save them for later reference.

In order to save notes, you will want to first create a My EBSCOhost account. If you haven't already done so, refer to the tutorial here and come back when you've successfully registered your account. If you already have an account,  please sign in to My EBSCOhost before continuing.

Once you're signed in successfully, select any eBook you like, go to the full-text view, and locate a page that interests you. When you've found a page you'd like to annotate, click on the annotate icon on the right-hand menu. It resembles a page with a sticky note attached.

A notes area should appear at the top of your screen. Click on the "New Note" button to add a note for this page.

A text field should appear. Type a brief comment, and click the Save button.

You can repeat the process above to create any number of annotations you wish. Once you have a few notes, hover your mouse over any one of them. Links will appear that allow you to edit or delete individual notes or jump directly to the page with which the annotation is associated. You can also use the "date" and "page" links on the upper right to sort your notes either in page order or in date order from newest to oldest.

As long as you're logged in, your notes will be saved to your account, and you can come back to them at any time. You also have the option of printing your notes. Clicking on the "Print List" link will create a print-friendly list of your notes, along with the author and title information for the eBook.

 

Using the Dictionary Feature


For your convenience, the EBSCOHost eBook platform also provides easy access to the Oxford American College Dictionary so you can look up any unfamiliar words you encounter without having to open an additional window or tab in your browser. 

Again, go to the full-text view of any book in the collection. Once you're in the full-text viewer, click on the dictionary icon on the right-hand tool bar.

A search box should appear at the top of your screen. Enter the word you wish to look up and click search.

The definition for the word should appear on the screen. To dismiss the dictionary window, either click the dictionary icon again or click the X in the upper-right corner.

Research Help

Contact Options


Our professional librarians are available to help you with using any of the library's electronic resources. Please don't hesitate to contact us if you require assistance.

In Person
SFCC, building 2.
By Email
ReferenceDesk.SFCC@sfcc.spokane.edu
By Phone
509.533.3834
By Chat
Ask Us 24/7!