Preface
From 2012 through Spring of 2019, the SFCC and SCC Libraries were joined under the CCS District administration. During this time, the libraries participated in the annual revision of the CCS Libraries Strategic Plan 2016-2018 which involved identification of outcomes and key performance indicators.
The SFCC and SCC libraries also produced numerous annual Strategic Program Assessments (SPA) reports - each focused on an aspect of library operations (support for eLearning and Rural Centers, e-resources, collections). The SPA reports were peer-reviewed by a representative user group.
SFCC Library continues to incorporate evidence in decision-making processes regarding collections, including feedback from faculty and students.
2.H.1 Library & Information Sources
Procedures for assessing adequacy of library collections.
Library planning committee and procedures for planning and collection development
During the 2016-2017 Strategic Program Assessment (SPA) period, CCS Librarians conducted an extensive assessment of collection use by faculty including the extent to which the collection meets their instructional needs
SPA 2016-2017 Collections.
A working Collection Team of SFCC and SCC librarians was formed as a result of this SPA. Their charge was to develop strategies and procedures to address the SPA findings. The Collection Team proposed a five-step cyclical process of collection management which involves faculty collaboration and supports the day-to-day information needs of faculty and students as well as program review and accreditation CCS Library Collection Cycle diagram.
The Collection Team also created a long-term plan to map items in the collection to specific college departments or programs in order to better facilitate conversations regarding library support for the curriculum. Once in place, this system will enable library faculty to tailor and communicate information regarding the collection in a meaningful way to departments undergoing program review, accreditation, etc.
Although conversations between librarians and the discipline faculty in their liaison areas have been taking place, feedback is often informal and inconsistent across all disciplines. Standardized forms for collecting regular feedback from departments are being developed in order to formalize the evaluation process for trial electronic library resources and existing database subscriptions. e.g., Faculty Database Evaluation Form; Database Renewal Form
Utilizing the Alma analytic tools like dashboards has been critical to the Collection Team and to SFCC librarians in developing strategies for collection use and identifying curricular gaps. Through these efforts, SFCC librarians and library administrators can communicate value, facilitate discussion, and create avenues for collection input and involvement by discipline faculty. Such actions enable the SFCC Library to make better-informed decisions based on the college's curricular needs.
One of the measures utilized to evaluate library collections is the Collection Development Policy. The Collection Team reviewed the CCS Collection Development Policy and noted that it is consistent with industry standards, and the policies of libraries with similar user populations. The Policy has been customized for SFCC curriculum and updated to provided clearer guidance in collection decision making. CCS Library Collection Development Policy: SFCC
Since 2018, the SFCC Library has not had an experienced cataloger on staff to provide consistent and timely processing of resources and their records. The cataloger plays a crucial role in the implementation of the planned mapping system and in ensuring that collection development procedures are consistently followed. Without a qualified cataloger, the accuracy of resource records, accessibility of resources, and their relationship to curriculum/departments/programs is threatened.
.
