Header
How to do Literary Research: Library Databases and Search Tips
Start from the beginning to learn how to search ProQuest Learning: Literature and start watching at 5:25 to learn how to search for literary criticism/reviews/analysis in JSTOR.
Library Databases: Literature
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive scholarly database with more than 7,000, full text, peer reviewed journals. Also contains magazine articles, trade publications, news items and multimedia resources. - Gale Literature This link opens in a new windowDiscovery tool for searching a wide range of literature resources
- ProQuest Learning: Literature This link opens in a new windowMore than 180,000 full-text works of poetry, prose, and drama from around the world; as well as secondary sources such as author biographies and multimedia, as well as literary criticisms, essays, reviews, and interviews drawn from more than 100 full-text literary magazines and journals.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Database of full-text academic journals, mostly older issues, from a variety of subject areas. Goes back hundreds of years. - Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive scholarly database with more than 7,000, full text, peer reviewed journals. Also contains magazine articles, trade publications, news items and multimedia resources. - Digital Theatre+ This link opens in a new windowDigital Theatre+ provides streaming access to over 900 full-length productions, scripts, interviews, documentaries, masterclasses, lectures, study guides, workshop guides and encyclopedia entries
Background Information
- Britannica Academic This link opens in a new windowComprehensive reference source including images, videos, articles from respected magazines an journals, and a guide to the best websites.
Library Database Search Tips
Click the box for FULL TEXT to get whole articles only.
Click the box for SCHOLARLY JOURNAL or PEER-REVIEWED to limit your results to scholarly articles. *not always an option, such as JSTOR, which only has scholarly content.
Library Database Usernames/Passwords are what you use to log on to a school computer
Example - Username: JohnD7386@bigfoot.spokane.edu Password: Your student ID #, unless you've changed it to something else.
NEED HELP - check here.
Look for a Specific Magazine or Journal
- eJournals Available at SFCC/SCCThis search functions allows you to search for specific journal titles. You can also search for all journals with psychology in the title by typing PSYCHOLOGY and hitting search.