GOOGLE VERSUS THE INTERNET
How to Locate Scholarly Articles
Fun short video on the why of library research.
Use the left corner to enlarge.
The Information Cycle
What's the difference between books, news and scholarly resources?
Getting Started/Overviews/Brainstorms
You can "pre-search" your topic in general or specialized encyclopedias. Like Wikipedia the sources listed below have articles that include history and a summary of previous research done on your subject. Encyclopedias should never be the only source for your research. Remember unique information from Wikipedia must be verified by at least one other reputable source.
- Choosing a Good Research Topic (Video Steely Library NKU))Video on how to begin and focus your research.
- EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Approximately 150,000 eBook titles from across the disciplines, including reference works and scholarly monographs. - Britannica Academic This link opens in a new windowFree and unabridged! This is NOT the concise version found for free on the web.
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
A collection of online specialized encyclopedias and eBooks on a variety of subjects
Researching @ SFCC Library
Off-Campus Database Login
Use your SFCC computer username: JanetW7824 and password ****** selected on campus
The library homepage includes links to the following databases or articles. Most databases allow you to e-mail yourself articles, provide guidance for proper citation and allow you to set-up current alerts or updates for new articles on your topic.
Introductions to your topic might begin with Wikipedia or one of the more academic overviews.
- ALL Articles & Databases (SFCC)General article databases and specialized databases are listed here. Connects you to full-text articles from newspapers, magazines, and scholarly journals such as Academic Search Complete, Proquest , GreenR, CQ Researcher & Opposing Viewpoints. You must sign-in to access off-campus. See the Login page if you are having difficulty from off campus.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database includes some magazines but is primarily scholarly journals. - ProQuest This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
The best database for newspapers and state or local information. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
For most assignment limit to articles in sociology, psychology and history. Articles are usually at least 5 years old. - Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Use the Issues link to view all the subjects listed in Opposing Viewpoints
- Google ScholarUse setting to select Spokane Falls library so you may link directly to SFCC articles.
- Think TanksAccess studies done by experts of varying philosophies and political views.
- Dana's Catalog LinkSearch for books in SFCC Library and SCC Library. Allows you to request books from SCC, Gonzaga, Whitworth and Idaho libraries. ASK for assistance any time.
- Books on Technology and Technological ChangeThis is a select list. There are other books available including titles on the brain and computing.
- EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
eBooks are easier than ever to find and use.
- StatisticsSources for national, international and local statistics.
- Citing SourcesMLA and APA citation guides.
- Improving your Google SearchSites that catalog reliable and scholarly web pages. Also hints for improving your web search results.
- Internet Resources - Frequently Requested Resources by SubjectLinks to a selection of Internet sites compiled for SFCC students. Also SUBJECT DIRECTORIES that link to scholarly web pages. Suitable for college level research.
Political Theories for StudentsISBN: 9780787692872Publication Date: 2004-07-01Helps define common words used today in a political context such as: liberal, conservative, progressive, tea party etc.
Research Help
Contact Options
Our professional librarians are available to help you with using any of the library's electronic resources. Please contact us if you require assistance.
 |
In Person SFCC, building 2. |
 |
By Email ReferenceDesk.SFCC@sfcc.spokane.edu |
 |
By Phone 509.533.3834 or 1.800.251.1972 |
 |
By Chat Ask Us 24/7! |
Why can't I just use Wikipedia?
Why can't I just use Wikipedia? Like other encyclopedias Wikipedia is usually a good source for looking up a quick fact or finding some general background information on a topic. Unlike other encyclopedias authors of Wikipedia articles have names like: Anonmoos, Mrvain68, and billobob. Authors are sometimes very passionate about their subjects and may not be educated or objective. One other issue is that Wikipedia articles can easily be changed by anyone quickly for a short period of time.
In many ways Wikipedia is a social network chech out these Wikipedia authors: Vincecate; ReelExterminator
Great video: Wikipedia beneath the Surface.
Everyone should see this 7 minute YouTube clip!