Image Quality
Image Quality
The best reproduction quality of art will be found in books and journals. However, ARTstor images are generally of good print quality.
You can scan, print or photocopy art reproductions found in books and journals in the library. There is a charge for color printing and color photocopying. Stop by the Help Desk for assistance.
Images Online
The following databases and websites are just a few of the sources available for images. These resources will be especially helpful in locating images for the topics you are exploring. Be sure to include a search on Google for other image resources on your topic.
Searching from off campus? Some of the resources listed require you to log in if you are off campus. You will be prompted to log in in those cases.
Image Databases
- ARTstor This link opens in a new windowMore than one million images in the areas of art, architecture, humanities, and sciences. Select "images" to begin your search.
- Google Art ProjectExplore museums from around the world, discover and view hundreds of artworks.
- Google Image BankPrint quality of images varies considerably. Remember that you need to consider copyright when using other's images. To locate images that have copyright permissions click the option listed as "tools" under the Google search bar, then select "usage rights" and select "labeled for reuse."
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Database of full-text academic journals, mostly older issues, from a variety of subject areas. Goes back hundreds of years.
- Smithsonian Institution Collections Search CenterSearch over 9.6 million records of museum objects, archives and library materials including more than 1.4 million online media files. From http://collections.si.edu
Art for Anthropology
- Wiki CommonsA collection of 50,770,845 freely usable media files to which anyone can contribute.
- Smithsonian Institution Collections Search CenterSearch over 9.6 million records of museum objects, archives and library materials including more than 1.4 million online media files. From http://collections.si.edu
- Smithsonian National Museum of Natural History - Anthropology Collections & Archives"The diverse collections of the Department of Anthropology are an unparalleled resource containing historical and contemporary materials that document the world's cultures and history of anthropology." From http://anthropology.si.edu/archives_collections.html