History
History Article Databases
HISTORY DATABASES
- American History Online This link opens in a new windowHISTORY: Collection of Biographies, essays, timelines, images, maps, primary sources and more covering America's policital, military, social and cultural history.
- Ancient and Medieval History Online This link opens in a new windowCollection of Biographies, essays, timelines, images, maps, primary sources and more covering world political, military, social and cultural history.
- Facts on File History Databases This link opens in a new windowSearch engine for all four Facts on File history databases.
- History Reference Center This link opens in a new windowHISTORY: Includes full text of more than 130 leading history periodicals, the History Reference Center also offers the entire contents of 2,300 reference books, encyclopedias and other non-fiction titles; more than 60,000 historical documents, biographies of historical figures, historical photos and maps, and some 80 hours of historical video.
- Issues & Controversies in American History This link opens in a new windowCollection of articles providing concise and balanced coverage of the backgrounds, outcomes, and contemporary points of view for every major debate and conflict in American history.
- Modern World History Online (Facts on File) This link opens in a new windowHISTORY: Collection of biographies, essays, timelines, images, maps, primary sources, and more covering world history from the mid-15th century to the present.
GENERAL DATABASES
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
HISTORY/GENERAL: These scholarly articles are five or more years old so this database is most useful for history and humanities and older social science research. Use advanced search and choose history journals. - Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
GENERAL - Comprehensive scholarly database with more than 7,000 full text, peer reviewed journals. - ProQuest This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
GENERAL: Provides indexing and full-text for a broad range of articles both scholarly and general interest.
HISTORIC NEWSPAPERS
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1924 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.
Washington State Library created an online collection of indexed newspapers beginning in 1852, which covers Washington's territorial and early statehood periods. These digitized pages from our microfilm collection have been indexed and are keyword searchable thanks to the efforts of volunteers.
The AAS Historical Periodicals Collection contains more than 6,500 historical periodical titles (newspapers, magazines, etc.) from 1693 to 1877.
- Historical Newspapers of Spokane (access via SPL's ProQuest)Discover searchable digital images of Spokane’s historic newspapers, including various versions of the Spokesman Review from 1883 to 2009 and versions of the Spokane Chronicle from 1890 to 1992, along with other early Spokane newspapers.
REQUIRES SPOKANE LIBRARY CARD NUMBER. ALL SFCC STUDENTS & STAFF ARE ELIGIBLE TO GET CARDS ONLINE.
Look for a Specific Magazine or Journal
- eJournals Available at SFCC/SCCThis search functions allows you to search for specific journal titles. You can also search for all journals with anthropology in the title by typing HISTORY and hitting search.
Research Help
Contact us!
Our professional librarians are available to help you with using any of the library's electronic resources. Please contact us if you require assistance.
 |
In Person SFCC, building 2. |
 |
By Email ReferenceDesk.SFCC@sfcc.spokane.edu |
 |
By Phone 509.533.3834 or 1.800.251.1972 |
 |
By Chat Ask Us 24/7! |
Database Search Tips
Click the box for FULL TEXT to get whole articles only.
Click the box for SCHOLARLY JOURNAL or PEER-REVIEWED to limit your results to scholarly articles. *not always an option, such as JSTOR, which only has scholarly content.
Library Database Usernames and Passwords are what you use to log on to a school computer
Example - Username: JohnD7386@bigfoot.spokane.edu
-Password: Your student ID #, unless you've changed it to something else.
NEED HELP - check here.
How to Search JSTOR
History Resources
Sampling of History Journal Titles
- "American History"Feature articles and special issues presenting the best available historic and contemporary illustrations and authoritative narratives on all aspects of American history.
- "Journal of African American History"Articles, documents, and notes and comments on all aspects of negro history published by the Association for the Study of Negro Life and History Inc.
- "Journal of World History"Official journal of the World History Association. Peer reviewed coverage of comparative and cross-cultural themes which describe forces that work their influences across cultures and civilizations.
- "Military History"Articles, information, and reviews about military history.
- "War in History"Peer reviewed articles which attempt to place military history into a broader definition of history by examining war in all its aspects: economic, social and political as well as purely military. Articles cover all time periods.
Interlibrary Loan
Inter-library loan (ILL) is a service agreement in which participating libraries share items. The SFCC Library borrows materials from other library collections for our students and faculty. In turn, the Spokane Falls Library loans items to other libraries.
Spokane Falls faculty, students and staff may use this service at no cost. There are some limits on the number and types of materials that we may borrow.