Faculty Information: SFCC Library

Artificial intelligence is becoming an integral part of education, shaping the way students learn and how we teach. As faculty, we play a key role in guiding students to use AI ethically and thoughtfully. The new Library Guide on AI offers valuable resources, from understanding its limitations to integrating AI into teaching while maintaining academic integrity.

Watch and Learn: Faculty and Student Discussions on AI

We recently hosted an engaging AI-focused workshop series featuring expert insights and real student experiences. More than 60 students and several faculty participated, sparking important conversations about AI’s role in academic life.

Check out the video recordings now available in the AI Library Guide:

• Academic Integrity and AI (Prerecorded content that includes an interactive student worksheet)
• The Pros and Cons of Using AI for Academic Research (Prerecorded Content Coming)
• AI in the Classroom (Live Panel Discussion. The Library, eLearning Instructional Designer, English Faculty, and an SFCC alum turned academic coach and EWU student)

A huge thank you to our panelists for their time and expertise.

Students Insights: Key Takeaways from the AI Workshops

• “I learned that if you're unsure about ethical AI use in coursework, check the syllabus, ask your instructor for clarification, consider the assignment's purpose, and always cite information that isn’t your own idea.”
• “I appreciated how the librarian presenting emphasized the ethical ramifications of putting information into AI. I don't think people realize how serious it is to put something that isn't ours into an AI database.  Thank you for a wonderful presentation!!”
• "One of the most helpful aspects of the workshop was learning how to verify AI-generated citations using multiple methods, such as checking Google Scholar, library catalogs, and DOIs. The discussion on AI hallucinations and how AI tools sometimes fabricate sources was particularly insightful, as it reinforced the importance of critical thinking when using AI for research."
• “AI can be a helpful and convenient tool when researching, but it still requires that we pay careful attention and critically analyze its results.”

Explore the SFCC Library AI Guide and Join the Conversation

Welcoming Our New Associate Dean of Connected Learning

We have been delighted to welcome and collaborate with our new Associate Dean of Connected Learning. A librarian at heart, a passionate dancer, and a dedicated advocate for students, she brings a wealth of energy and expertise to our community. We are excited to share a little get to know you information!

Questions & Answers with Our New Associate Dean

Q: If you could have dinner with any fictional character, who would it be and why?

A: Louise Belcher. She's super funny and chaotic, but also always ends up doing the right thing even when it's hard.

Q: If your life had a theme song, what would it be?

A: My undergrad is in modern dance, and we got really into developing our own sound scores in that program. I don’t know if I have a theme song, but my roommate told me all my music sounded like bees. So, I guess whatever it is… it’s probably kinda weird.

Q: What TV show or movie have you watched more times than you can count?

A: Derry Girls is my background noise right now. I spent a little time in Ireland over the summer and it's even better now that I have seen a lot of it for real.

Q: If you could instantly master any skill, what would it be?

A: I would not hate having instant mastery at public speaking.

Q: If you were a superhero, what would your superpower be?

A: I think precognition and healing are probably the most needed/useful superpowers. Invisibility would be fun though!

Q: If your pet (or favorite animal) could talk, what do you think they would say first?

A: Robert (pictured) is my most vocal cat. My best translation is... FEED ME.

Thank You, Tori!

The library is pleased to announce the recent acquisition of the PBS Video Collection: Fifth Edition, an extensive streaming video resource.

About the Collection:

• Features more than 1,700 streaming videos with exceptional content.
• Includes high-value documentaries and series from PBS.
• Covers a wide range of subjects, including:
  • Science
  • History
  • Art & Shakespeare
  • Diversity
  • Business & Economics
• A comprehensive resource designed for teaching and learning.

You can download the full bibliography of titles in this collection.

The process for signing up for a Spokane Public Library card has changed. If you have instructions or links for accessing Spokane Public Library resources such as Kanopy or LinkedIn Learning, they will need to be updated. The SFCC Library Guide titled, "Accessing Spokane Public Library Resources" has been updated with the most current links. Please refer to this guide when updating any course materials or Canvas content, especially if you link directly to any websites from the Spokane Public Library. 

The library has added new books to our collection! Most of our purchases support the curriculum, but we’ve also included some great leisure reads. Our librarians are actively purchasing throughout the year, so if you have suggestions for supplemental reading or general subject areas you'd like to see more of, let us know! While we can’t purchase textbooks, we’re happy to support your learning with additional resources. Send us an email with your recommendations, and we’ll be in touch!

• New Non-Fiction List, Purchased Fall 2024
• New Non-Fiction List, Purchased Winter 2025
• New Fiction List, Purchased Fall 2024
• New Fiction List, Purchased Winter 2025