Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Where to Find Streaming Content
The following website are helpful when you are trying to find out if and where a popular film is streaming. They usually includes information about included with service, as well as rental and purchase options.
Find what is streaming from various services.
Find what is streaming from various services.
Can I Stream It?
Find what is streaming from various servcies.
Creative Commons Search
"Find content you can share, use and remix." A website that allows you to search the content of various online media repositories with an emphasis on works under the creative commons license.
“Library Guides: E-Video: Find Streaming Video.” UW Bothell Campus Library, 8 Feb. 2019, guides.lib.uw.edu/c.php?g=345938&p=2330116.
Streaming Video Databases at SFCC
Streaming educational videos from a wide variety of disciplines
Collection of streaming videos
Digital Theatre+ provides streaming access to over 900 full-length productions, scripts, interviews, documentaries, masterclasses, lectures, study guides, workshop guides and encyclopedia entries
Film Platform offers relevant and highly regarded documentary films.
Films-on-Demand (SFCC ONLY)
Collection of streaming educational videos. Includes Josef Albers: Homage to the Square, Rachel Carson's Silent Spring, & Stages of Family Recovery.
ICE Video Library
International Clinical Educators video library is designed specifically for physical therapy and occupational therapy faculty. ICE Video Library offers a wide range of short videos that enhance lectures and present real case studies.
Kanopy Streaming Service
Streaming video service for education films.
As of 2018 the location of streaming videos hosted by SFCC library has changed with the new website and server. You can locate the following videos in Kanopy or Canvas.
You and your students will need a password and username to access the videos. For this information please contact one of the SFCC Librarians or call the SFCC Reference Desk at 509-533-3834 during regular library hours.
New Librarianship Masterclass
Design is One
Raising of America
Killing Us Softly 4
Tough Guise 2
Note: If you are Spokane City Resident with an active library card you can access the full extend of the Kanopy Video Collection, perhaps making it a little difficult to assign as homework. However, performance rights are granted for ALL VIDEOS in the SPL Kanopy collection, so they can be shown in any class, meeting, performance, etc. in Spokane.
You can find details here on how to create a Kanopy account and if you are a Spokane resident who needs to sign-up for a library card you can find the information here.
Canvas (Hosted in Panopto)
You can access the videos from any of your Canvas Courses.
See below for instructions.
Waiting for Superman (available in CC)
Miss Representation (available in CC)
Mask You Live In (available in CC)
Basic Film Terms
Patterns of Inheritance
Smithsonian World, Nigerian Art: Kindred Spirit
Indian Art through Indian Eyes
African Art: Art, Women, History
Instructions for Accessing Canvas Hosted Videos
Free Streaming Videos Online
American Memory Collection
Several hundred early motion pictures are viewable in the Library of Congress' American Memory collections.
Former telecourses such as American Cinema are available here.
BFI Film Channel
Films and still photographs from the entire archive of 90,000 videos covering newsreel, sports footage, social history documentaries, entertainment and music stories from 1896 to 1976.
Europa Film Treasures
Historic films from 15 European countries, including the archives of the British Film Institute, Filmoteca Española, Cineteca di Bologna, La Cinémathèque Française, and Filmarchiv Austria.
Free PBS Videos
This beta site includes Frontline, Bill Moyers Journal, POV and Newshour.
Vintage documentaries and some new academic lectures. Includes Khan Academy.
JoVE: Journal of Visualized Experiments
Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE) is a peer reviewed, open access, online journal devoted to the publication of biological research in a video format.
Library Of Congress's YouTube Channel
Treasures and contemporary presentations from the Library of Congress in Washington, DC, posted on YouTube.
Watch full-length feature films, classic shorts, world culture documentaries, World War II propaganda, movie trailers, and films created in just ten hours: These options are all featured in this diverse library.
Moving Image Archive
A collection thousands of digital movies uploaded by Archive users which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts.
Netflix has made some of their documentaries available to the public through their YouTube Channel.
News & Public Affairs
An analysis of news and public affairs independent from traditional corporate media is available from this diverse video library. From Democracy Now's daily news program, to three days of TV news coverage following the 911 attacks, to Mosaic’s timely clips of Middle East newscasts, to UCSF's Tobacco Industry Videos: These collections offer an alternative way to view and interpret current news and public affairs.
The Open Video Project
A collection of thousands of digitized videos from varous governmental, educational, and non-profit institutions.
Independent films streamed on demand. Streams on most mobile devices
Spirituality & Religion
View videos about spirituality and religion.
From soccer to sailing, to rock climbing, cheerleading, and underwater hockey: You are invited to watch or download free sports videos contributed by Archive users.
TED: Ideas Worth Spreading
Technology, Entertainment, Design provides "Riveting talks by remarkable people, free to the world." Inspiring lectures many by famous speakers.
Collections of items recorded from television, including commercials, old television shows, government proceedings, and more.
Top Documentary Films
"You can find thousands of stunning, eye-opening and interesting documentaries." - Top Documentary Films
UbuWeb Film & Video
Hundreds of avant-garde films & videos available for viewing online
Video Lectures Net
"An open-access educational repository of high-quality, mainly scientific video lectures. Target audience is graduate students, researchers and scholars, and increasingly the general public, along with high school and undergraduate students.
Web of Stories
UK-based site features influential people telling their life stories. Great Lives, features the life stories of individuals ranging from poet Donald Hall to physicist Edward Teller. Complete interviews (which consist solely of the subject speaking into a camera) run between 1.5 and 13 hours. Channels tab sorts interviews by subject or discipline
DVDs / Streaming Videos @ SFCC
Want to request or recommend a film for purchase?
Contact your librarian liaison.
Want to check out a film?
Contact your librarian liaison or
Call the circulation desk at 509-533-3805