Innovation Studio
The Innovation Studio is a reservable room in the SFCC library decked out with new technology for recording and editing video and audio content. All SFCC students, faculty, and staff are encouraged to use the studio and can reserve the room at the Library Technology Desk, email sara.kelly@sfcc.spokane.edu, or call 509-533-3833.
Innovation Room Equipment
|
|
New Items at the Library
Winter 2023
This is a new list of items purchased recently at the SFCC Library. You can locate these books in the "New Book Section" near the circulation desk.
 |
 |
 |
Fall 2022
For this particular list, these are books donated by the SFCC Alliance Club in an effort to make resources available to the entire community.
Please note all donations are reviewed by the librarians who then select books to add to the library collection according to the SFCC Collection Development Policy.
We encourage you to stop by the library and check them out.
 |
 |
 |
Story Time with the SFCC Library
Many people have childhood memories of story time at the public library, but what about at college? When you have an Early Childhood Center on campus, a collection of children’s books at the college library and library staff with story time experience, it makes a great partnership.
This past January, the SFCC librarians and staff have started a monthly story time program with the 4 to 5 year-old classes at the Early Childhood Center on campus. In January, the children enjoyed discussing their favorite winter activities while listening to a of reading The Snowy Day by Ezra Jack Keats. It was a musical and bilingual story time in February as the children sang songs in Spanish while listening to Tortillas and Lullabies / Tortilla y Cancionitas.
The children and their teachers enjoy having library visitors come to their classroom to read to them. And the librarians and staff like seeing the children come to the library and tour the children’s collection and see what a college library is like.
Thank you to Theresa Meckel (SFCC Early Childhood Center) and Gaby Arroyo (SFCC Library) for setting up this partnership.
Collection News
The Communicator
Students from the SFCC Journalism program, directed by SFCC Librarian Mary Nagel and Journalism faculty member Jason Nix, are working on a long-term project to archive the SFCC college newspaper, The Communicator. You can find a digital archive of the Communicator from October 2008 to the present on the SFCC Library Database page. Or view the current issue online.
The Newspaper Archive Trial
Check out the SFCC library trial to NewspaperArchive.com (now through March 13th)
We encourage all to use it – faculty, students, and staff. We also ask that you provide us feedback on the trial using this form.
A little bit about the database…
NewspaperArchive.com provides access to 15,900+ smaller newspapers – local, regional, domestic and even international!
- articles (in various languages) and images (including political cartoons and advertisements).
- Advanced Searching and Browsing options
- Content is in its original formatting and layout in the newspapers
Some historical newspapers from our local area include:
- Spokane Industrial Worker (1900-1913)
- Spokane Falls Review (1883-1890)
- Spokane Times (1883-1890)
- Spokane Press (1902-1910)
- Spokane Washington Farmer (1914)
- Pullman Herald (1888-1924)
*Please note the ProQuest: Spokesman Review Historical Newspapers is available online through Spokane Public Library. It does require an SPL number and pin. All SFCC students, staff and faculty are eligible to get an SPL number online.