Advanced Search Techniques: Boolean Operators & Search Modifiers
Boolean Cheat Sheet Ingfographic
Click on the image below for and enlarged copy of the infographic or see the transcript below.
McMaster University Library. (2015). Boolean cheat sheet (infographic). Retrieved from https://library.mcmaster.ca/instructional-videos
____________________________
Video: How Stuff Works How to Choose Keywords
Video: How Stuff Works
Boolean Operators
(AND OR NOT)
Video: How Stuff Works
Boolean Modifiers "", *, ()
Beyond Database Basics Presentation
Database 'How-to" Tutorials
How to Create a Folder & Save Documents
- Academic Search Complete: How to Save Documents (Word Doc)This document provides step-by-step instruction on how to create a personal account with EBSCOHost and how to save articles in any EBSCOHost database. Includes alt text & appropriate headings for ADA accessibility.
- Academic Search Complete: How to Save Documents (PDF)This document provides step-by-step instruction on how to create a personal account with EBSCOHost and how to save articles in any EBSCOHost database.
How to Save your Searches
- Academic Search Complete: How to Save Searches (Word Doc)This document provides step-by-step instruction on how to create a personal account with EBSCOHost and how to save searches in any EBSCOHost database. Includes alt text & appropriate headings for ADA accessibility.
- Academic Search Complete: How to Save Searches (PDF)This document provides step-by-step instruction on how to create a personal account with EBSCOHost and how to save searches in any EBSCOHost database.
How to Create a Search Alert
- Creating a Search Alert in EBSCOhostA step-by-step PowerPoint presentation on how to create a search alert. Printable for a use as a handout.
How to Create a Journal Alert
- Creating a Journal Alert in EBSCOhostA step-by-step PowerPoint presentation on how to create a journal alert. Printable for a use as a handout.
How to Search Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost Databases) using Subject Terms
- Browsing Subject Terms in EBSCOhostA step-by-step PowerPoint presentation on how to search using subject terms. Printable for a use as a handout.
- EBSCOHost: Searchable FieldsThis resource from EBSCOhost explains the meaning of search each option in the search field.
How to Create an Advanced Search
- ProQuest: How to Save Documents (Word Doc)This document provides step-by-step instruction on how to create a personal account with ProQuest and how to save articles in any ProQuest database. Includes alt text & appropriate headings for ADA accessibility.
- ProQuest: How to Save Documents (PDF)This document provides step-by-step instruction on how to create a personal account with ProQuest and how to save articles in any ProQuest database.
How to Create a Journal/Publication Alert and Search for Publications
How to Navigate & Interpret Search Results
- ProQuest: How to Save Searches (Word Doc)This document provides step-by-step instruction on how to create a personal account with ProQuest and how to save searches in any ProQuest database. Includes alt text & appropriate headings for ADA accessibility.
- ProQuest: How to Save Searches (PDF)This document provides step-by-step instruction on how to create a personal account with ProQuest and how to save searches in any ProQuest database.
How to Search ProQuest using Subject Terms
How to Download and Send Articles to Google Drive or OneDrive
How to use Highlights & Notes
How to use the "Get Link" Tool to Create Persistent Links back to Documents & Searches