Helpful Resources
- Writing with Statistics"This guide is not meant to teach you statistics, but rather how to use statistics more effectively in your writing. This guide is designed to help you understand both how to write using other people's statistics, and how to write using your own statistics." - OWL PUrdue
- Evaluating Statistics & Data for Credibility"Determine if your data/statistics are SMART before believing what is reported. " - UW Libraries. A helpful evaluative procedure to help you decided if the information represented in data/statistics is accurate and credible.
Statistical Abstract of the United States 2018 by Call Number: 317.3 PROQUES 2018ISBN: 9781598889451Publication Date: 2017-12-15The Statistical Abstract of the United States has provided a statistical portrait of social, political, demographic, and economic conditions of America since 1878.
- Calling Bullshit: Data Reasoning in a Digital WorldA completely free online course from the University of Washington. "Our aim in this course is to teach you how to think critically about the data and models that constitute evidence in the social and natural sciences." - Carl T. Bergstrom & Jevin West
Calling Bullshit Video 6.1: Dataviz in the Popular Media
Calling Bullshit Video 2.5: Unfair Comparisons
Calling Bullshit Video 6.2: Misleading Axes
Workshop Video and Presentation
Where to find Data & Statistics Online
- Bureau of Economic AnalysisCollects information on economic indicators, national and international trade, accounts, and industry.
- Bureau of Justice StatisticsMeasures labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the U.S. economy.
- Bureau of Transportation StatisticsProvides data on airline on-time performance, pirates at sea, transportation safety and availability, motorcycle trends, and more.
- Data.govThe home of the U.S. Government's open data. Find federal, state, and local data, tools, and resources to conduct research, build apps, design data visualizations, and more.
- Energy Information AdministrationProvides data on U.S. use of coal, natural gas, nuclear energy, renewable energy, and more.
- National Center for Education Statisticsresearches education in the United States. It publishes the Digest of Education Statistics, which includes international comparisons of students, and the annual report to Congress, The Condition of Education, which reports the progress of American education.
- National Center for Health StatisticsThe principal health statistics agency for improving the health of the American people.
- National Center for Science & Engineering StatisticsPublishes data on the American science and engineering workforce and the progress of science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) education in the United States.
- U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsMeasures labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the U.S. economy.
- United States Census BureauThe main source of data about our nation's people and economy.
- County & City DataProvided by Office of Financial Management, provides data related to population, economy, and more.
- Department of HealthData on infectious diseases, injury & trauma, maternal & child health and more.
- Department of RevenueUse "Create a Report" tool to download tables on gross business income, taxable retail sales, local tax distributions and more.
- Department of TransportationAnnual mileage, collisions and traffic data.
- Office of Financial ManagementIncludes data "related to the state budget, public policy and demographics" including health care, human services and education.
- Center on Budget and Policy Prorities"We are a nonpartisan research and policy institute. We pursue federal and state policies designed both to reduce poverty and inequality and to restore fiscal responsibility in equitable and effective ways. We apply our deep expertise in budget and tax issues and in programs and policies that help low-income people, in order to help inform debates and achieve better policy outcomes." - Center on Budget & Policy Priorities
- DataFind from the Population Reference BureauA database with hundreds of variables for the US and the world.
- Pew Research CenterA nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. They conduct public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research.
- UNdataComprehensive database which includes most major statistical resources of international statistics from the United Nations.
- United Nations Statistics Division"The United Nations Statistics Division is committed to the advancement of the global statistical system. We compile and disseminate global statistical information, develop standards and norms for statistical activities, and support countries' efforts to strengthen their national statistical systems. We facilitate the coordination of international statistical activities and support the functioning of the United Nations Statistical Commission as the apex entity of the global statistical system." - United Nations Statistics Division
- World DataBankFrom the World Bank. World Development Indicators plus other international indicators.
All CCS Students, Staff, and Faculty now have FULL ACCESS to the Spokane Public Library, including some great databases for finding data and statistics. The majority of these resources are helpful for accessing data related to business and marketing.
- Business Source Complete: Full-text journals for business, including marketing, management, accounting, and economics, as well as detailed information on public and private companies.
- Gale Business’ Demographics Now: Searchable demographics and consumer business statistics, with directory information and easy business startup reports.
- Data Axle Reference Solutions: Reference Solutions has vital information on every business and consumer in the United States and Canada, helping researchers find valuable sales leads, conduct market research or competitive analysis, and do effective marketing and outreach.
To access the databases listed above you'll need a Spokane Public Library Card. If you already have a card follow the links to sign-in. If you need a Spokane Public Library Card follow the steps in this library guide.
The Difference Between Data & Statistics
What is the difference between Data and Statistics?
Data is the raw information from which statistics are created.
Statistics provide an interpretation and summary of data.
Data
- Datasets
- Machine-readable data files, data files for statistical software programs
If you want to understand a phenomenon, you want data. Data can be analyzed and interpreted using statistical procedures to answer “why” or “how.” Data is used to create new information and knowledge.
Raw data is the direct result of research that was conducted as part of a study or survey. It is a primary source. It usually comes in the form of a digital data set that can be analyzed using software such as Excel, SPSS, SAS, and so on. This is what a data set looks like:
Statistics
- Statistical tables, charts, and graphs
- Reported numbers and percentages in an article
If you’re looking for a quick number, you want a statistic. A statistic will answer “how much” or “how many”. A statistic repeats a pre-defined observation about reality.
Statistics are the results of data analysis. It usually comes in the form of a table or chart. This is what a statistical table looks like:
Source: Loyola University of Chicago & Statistical Abstract of the United States
Citing Data and Statistics
Yes, you need to cite your data, just as you would cite information you found in an article, a book, a webpage, or any other format.
Here are some resources to help you cite your data:
Guide from MIT on how and why to cite data.
Data citation for Statistics Canada data.
- How to Cite Data
Useful guide written by librarian at Michigan State University. Includes info on how to cite data using APA style.